is allegro good enough or should I buy finale?

Discuss Coda's Notepad here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

bj nick

Post by bj nick » Sun Nov 28, 2004 9:19 pm

I purchased allegro 2000 several years ago but never used it, as I had stopped doing a lot of composing by then. However, I am getting back into it and want to start using Allegro. Just for context, I am an expert musician and intermediate computer user, but I am a beginner with Allegro.

What I will be doing with the product is this: I will be writing 1) horn charts for small groups (3-6 horns plus rhythm), and also big band arrangements (17-piece group). I want to be able to write charts and print them out, hear them played back to check for errors, etc. (I don't expect terrific quality playback, only for checking for errors, etc.)

I will be entering notes with both the hand entry and also midi keyboard.

Here's my issue: I would obviously love to be using "the best," but at the moment I'd rather not have to spend several hundred dollars on upgrading to Finale. My understanding at the time was that Allegro would fulfill all my needs, and that the extras included with Finale were things I didn't need, such as a wide selection of fonts, styles, etc., that are required for professional copyists.

I am not averse to spending money to get what I truly need; I do not believe in saving a little money if it means I'm handicapped. But if Allegro will do the job, then I'd rather stick with it for the present time.

I would very much appreciate feedback on whether or not I truly need to consider upgrading to Finale 2005, or whether Allegro 2000 will be adequate for my needs.

Thanks very much,
BJ

Peter S.
Finale Version: Finale 2009, 27
Operating System: Windows

Post by Peter S. » Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:11 am

Hi,