Linked Parts; to combine 2 staves; no brackets in score

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

LariRudi

Post by LariRudi » Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:33 am

I guess I'm a beginner, been using Finale 2012 for one day now. I think I do pretty well with PrintMusic2010 so that's my background.

So I'm trying to learn the uniqueness of "Linked Parts"............. when I did PrintMusic, I put a bracket between a Trombone and a Euphonium, and then extract parts. I got a single line Trombone and a single line Euphonium............ AND I'd get a two stave bass clef with bracket showing BOTH lines, so players could alternate staves at certain sections.

Does Finale2012 require a bracket between these two single staves in the score to get the same end result using Linked Parts?

I'm getting the single line staves for each, but can't find out how to put them together.

Of course I'm worried you'll say it needs the bracket, and ell, I know how to do that, but .... do I have to go back and modify the master score to get it?

Step by step instructions pls?

OK, while I'm here, what IS the purpose of "Extracted Parts" now? Will Linked Parts do everything I need now? What can create the need for an extracted part?

thx,

LarryR
PC; Windows XP
Started NotePad 5/19/10, then
Got PrintMusic this evening; 5/24/10

LariRudi

Post by LariRudi » Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:02 am

OK, so I went back and added brackets to the above mentioned Trombone and Euphonium, and for learning, and need, I added brackets to three trumpets thusly:

One bracket to combine Trumpet 1 and 2
One bracket to combine Trumpet 2 and 3
One bracket to combine all three trumpets.

This is the way I always did it in PrintMusic2010

So now I go to Documents and Manage Parts. All it presents to me are the 13 individual staves that I have in the score. I see no "combinations" of instruments.

I'm sure I'm missing something, so what is the next step that I'm missing?

thx,

LarryR