How best to get my sheet music into print music

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

anniep
Finale Version: 2011
Operating System: Mac

Post by anniep » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:51 pm

I am trying to enter the digital sheet music age. I just bought PrintMusic 2011, MusicReader PDF, and a new scanner. I have tried scanning my sheet music with the scanner program of all 3 products. And I am extremely frustrated. I can't even tell now what problems I have had with which product - yikes! I long for the days when the complexity was in playing the music at my piano.

What is the best way to get sheet music into PrintMusic so I can make changes to it before getting it into MusicReader (I will use MusicReader instead of lugging all my sheet music around with me.) I am new to all of this so detailed step-by-step would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4

Post by miker » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:41 pm

Annie,
Welcome to the forum. Sounds like you've got quite a job ahead of you!

First issue, scanning. Some people have great success, some have very little. I didn't use scanning for many years, but just recently gave it another try, and was generally pleased with the results. Every piece needed some correction, some, more than others. However, keep in mind that I am using the full Finale, and that I have years of experience. I know pretty quickly what the problems are, and if they can be easily fixed, or if a measure or a section, or the entire piece, should be entered from scratch. Also, with the full Finale, I have more editing options than you do, in PM.

I don't mean to be discouraging, but really, you will just have to try it out and see how it works for you.