Hello! Newbie here

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

einmusiker
Finale Version: Mac Finale 12
Operating System: Windows

Post by einmusiker » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:27 pm

Hi. I am new to finale. I have worked with Notefilght for years and am used to the easy UI, but am excited to learn the much more in-depth Finale 12. I am a newbie to finale so even some of the basics are confusing to me… please be gentle :oops:

1. It seems laborious to use the + and - symbols to change frets in tablature, is there a way to just input the number?

2. Why is the tuning wrong in the ukelele tablature?

3. inputing rests has been a real work in progress for me. In Noteflight I can just choose my rest length and click in the measure where I want to place it. Is there a similar method in Finale?

That's just the start of my confusion… I will be back often to ask more questions, thanks for your patience!

einmusiker

Post by einmusiker » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Also… when adding a flat (b) symbol to a chord with a seventh it looks like the chord is reading "D with a flat 7" instead of "Dflat dominant 7" Is that normal?

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by miker » Thu Mar 27, 2014 4:20 pm

Welcome to the forum.
1. Take a look at the Simple Entry menu. There are TAB specific shortcuts.

2. The uke TAB has been wrong forever. I think a poster on the MakeMusic forum did a corrected TAB. I'll look when I have a chance, to see if i can find it.

3. If you are using Simple Entry, hitting the 0 key on the numberpad will enter a rest.

4. That's how the chords work. Db7 would mean a Db chord, with the flatted 7. If you wanted a Db with a true 7, that would be Dmaj7. At least, that's what i was taught.
Finale 27 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

miker

Post by miker » Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:42 pm