Improving playback sounds

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

hk106
Finale Version: Finale 25.5
Operating System: Windows

Post by hk106 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:07 pm

Hi,

I'm an amateur musician with no instrumental skill and no musicians to perform my music. So I rely entirely on playback to enjoy the music I create.

I've been using Finale PrintMusic 2009 for several years, but I'm wondering if I can do better as far as the playback quality is concerned. Whatever library of instrumental sounds I'm using is whatever came with the software when I downloaded. I've heard before about being able to find add-ins to get higher quality, more realistic instrumental sounds, but I've not been successful in finding much pertaining to that topic in my web searches.

So I'm wondering if anyone here can help me with the following questions:
1) As a user of Finale PrintMusic 2009, is there a way for me to download a library of instrumental sounds that are more realistic than what comes with the software?
2) If not, do other versions of Finale, such as the Academic and Professional versions, feature improved instrumental sounds?

I greatly appreciate any wisdom on the subject!

bvstudios
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5

Post by bvstudios » Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:58 pm

Hello and welcome.

Five years ago, I was you, in a way. I had been using PM since 2000, but it was finally time to get serious about it and bite the bullet if I ever wanted my playbacks to sound better (or if I ever wanted more staves in my work).

While I am by no means an expert in this field, you might want to look into the possibility of an upgrade to the full version of Finale. There is an entire world of control functions that are simply not available to PM users which go a long way to help you get more realistic sounds from your music. While nothing beats a little (sorry- a LOT) of practice, having the tools to practice with has never hurt, either!