Is the Guitar TAB Program of 2014 Buggy?

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Fulcanelli
Finale Version: Finale 2009
Operating System: Windows

Post by Fulcanelli » Mon May 19, 2014 8:07 pm

Hi. I have to ask if anybody else is having problems when using the manuscript notation program in conjunction with guitar TAB. I am a guitar teacher and use both systems extensively. I always had issues with the earlier versions, 2007 and 2009 but when I saved it, closed the file and reopened, I could usually fix it then. However, this new version is driving me bonkers and I'm wondering if I am the only person having problems. Or perhaps I am doing everything wrong, not the intended way with Finale. I must find out. It is taking me three times longer to complete complex scores.

Sometimes the program will NOT ALLOW me to delete notes. When I have a score in rough form, I drag down the notation to create a TAB line, usually working in small chunks because the program asks me what the lowest fret is and some of my arrangements jump around the neck. However, once I have it set, if I go back and fix things, I have a dickens of a time getting what I want. Depending on what the issues are, I sometimes make corrections to the manuscript staff and drag it down to make TAB, or sometimes it is easier to make the corrections in TAB and drag it up to the manuscript (I ALWAYS get the right notation on the later method.) I have a nasty time of trying to edit individual notes in the correcting mode.