Expressions Missing after Finale 2014 b upgrade

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

squeezindiva
Finale Version: 2014b
Operating System: Windows

Post by squeezindiva » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:34 pm

Hi All,

I have been using Finale for over ten years. This is the first time I have had a serious problem. I am hoping someone here will have insight.

Just upgraded to 2014 b. When I went to open my files all of the expressions were gone. The files indicate where they were. In other words a small square indicating where they were exists and I can click on it to go to the Expression Tool but none of the information is there. For example, rehearsal marks -- in the Expression selection area the spaces for the ones I created are there but the spaces themselves are empty.

I quit and rebooted my Mac. Still the same when I reopened.

I have opened other files to see if the problem was more than just one file. And I created a new file. All have same missing expressions.

The thought of having to go back and reenter every expression I have ever added to all my files makes me queasy.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Mags
the Mad Maggies

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:52 am

Welcome to the forum!

Since you experience the same issue in all documents, I suspect that the culprit is a font issue.

In other words:
I suspect that your documents are all right, and that the documents will display correctly, when the font issue has been solved.

As a test you can create a new document, and try to create a new expression.
Another test: Create a new user account, and see whether the same problem shows up there.

Ideas:

1) Launch FontBook, and let it check the music fonts (e. g. fonts that are not properly installed, duplicate fonts, &c.)

2) Clear the font cache.

By The Way: