Piano Score to 8tet

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

bdidderlee
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows

Post by bdidderlee » Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:02 pm

I am brand new to scoring for multiple instruments on Finale 2014 (Windows 8.1), and would like to know the easiest way to take my 5 voice piano score of a well known standard, and transfer each voice to the appropriate instrument on a score which includes 4 horns, guitar + piano, bass & drums.

This is also my first attempt at using layers. They are not always consistent, voice per layer, and a single voice might flow through several layers. Kind of a mess, I know, but I was more concerned about just getting the info entered and my voicings to sound.

Thanks for any help.

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Sat Jul 11, 2015 6:01 pm

Welcome to the forum!

Your description is a bit vague:

“This is also my first attempt at using layers. They are not always consistent, voice per layer, and a single voice might flow through several layers. Kind of a mess, I know…”

My first guess would be that since the piano score is “kind of a mess”, you should not copy music from the piano score to the 8tet score, but rather set up a new, fresh 8tet score, and enter the 8 parts manually, one by one, into the 8tet score.
Mac OS X 12.6.9 (Monterey), Finale user since 1996

bdidderlee
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows

Post by bdidderlee » Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:51 pm

Thanks, Peter.

Sorry if I was being vague.

I was hoping to avoid entering all the parts manually since that would be A LOT of work. If I clean up the layers on the piano score first, what then would be the procedure, simple copy and paste each voice into the 8tet score, or is there a way to export?

Thanks again.

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4

Post by miker » Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:26 pm