Find Music Copyists & Engravers | Finale Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Must switch between views to make any changes

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:45 am

This is a follow-up to my post in the Playback section, where I describe the LEAST problematic symptom of the recent bizarre behavior exhibited by Finale 2014.5 (for Mac OS 10.12.2): the failure to scroll in Scroll View. The other, more troubling, symptoms seem to boil down to my having to switch whatever view I'm in in order to get Finale to react to any operation I'm trying to pull off. A Finale user since 1.0 in '89 (though never a member of any of the forums, because I only yesterday became aware of their existence!), I've seen many weird problems, but none like these. Select measures with the MIDI or Selection tools for whatever purpose or change some element with the Text tool? Nope, Finale won't do it. But wait! If I switch to whichever view I'm not in at the time, I see that the measures actually HAVE been selected or the text actually HAS been edited. If I proceed to the next step in the operation (whatever it might be) in the MIDI or Selection tools, there's no indication whatsoever of any success--unless I switch back to the original view, in which I can see that Finale in fact has done what I've asked. Obviously a terrible lot of time is being wasted here; but of course the situation was infinitely worse before I accidentally discovered the trick of switching between Scroll and Page views. As I mentioned in my post in the Playback section, I tried following a bit of general advice offered on the late (and resoundingly lamented) MM Forum concerning an entirely different problem; but unfortunately the Safe Boot ploy did absolutely no good. Has this new version been corrupted? Do I need to throw out Finale's preferences? Trash the program and download a fresh copy? Thanks for any advice anyone can provide!
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby BuonTempi » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:56 am

This isn't most people's experience, so the good news is that you should be able to fix it. I would definitely trash Finale's preference file, if I were you.

Also, check you haven't got some other third-party software running in the background that might be out-of-date or incompatible with Finale, eg. anything like a keyboard macro app or mouse drivers.
User avatar
BuonTempi
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:59 am
Finale Version: Finale 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:43 pm

Thanks, Buon Tempi! Trashed the preferences, emptied the trash, restarted, and relaunched Finale. Unfortunately, Finale's still not playing nice. Any recommendations (from anyone) about a next step or steps?
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby motet » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:49 pm

Have you turned off "Automatic Update Layout"?
User avatar
motet
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Location: Northern California
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby motet » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:57 pm

To clarify: that's a question, not a suggestion. Turning it off will cause the kind of problem you describe.
User avatar
motet
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Location: Northern California
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:04 pm

Thanks, Motet! Just turned it off (in Preferences). Sorry, though, to report no improvement. Any other ideas welcome, of course.
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby motet » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:04 pm

Don't turn it off!
User avatar
motet
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Location: Northern California
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:17 pm

Ah . . . In that case, I'll turn it back on. Glad not to be having to give up that function.
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby motet » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:25 pm

Are you sure it was on before? If it was off, that could very well account for your symptom of a change being made but your not seeing it (I think a switch between views triggers an update).
User avatar
motet
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Location: Northern California
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:27 pm

Yes, I'm sure it had been on before I misunderstood your first post and turned that function off. (And no, turning it back on hasn't done any noticeable good.) Have followed Mike's advice (in the concurrent thread in the Playback section) and submitted a ticket to MM. But if you have further ideas, please bring 'em on! Thanks.
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby motet » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:39 pm

Does it happen with all files? Make a new document and see.
User avatar
motet
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Location: Northern California
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Skjalg » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:02 pm

I had the same experience once, one specific file made from a scanned document.
User avatar
Skjalg
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:16 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:10 pm

Should have thought of that. Anyway, I won't say the situation's exactly the same with the new document (scrolling playback in Scroll View works better, though only on a second request each time), but the switching back and forth between Scroll and Page view is still necessary.
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby motet » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:18 pm

Let us know if MM is able to help.
User avatar
motet
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Location: Northern California
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:55 pm

Hi, Skjalg. Sorry to hear you had the same problem once. But the similarities end there: both the doc. that's driving me crazy AND the new test doc., which exhibits basically the same problems, were created by me from scratch.

And to Miker and Motet: I'll be sure to post here if MM comes through with a solution. Thanks, everybody.
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby zuill » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:02 pm

I'm not sure this was discussed, but does invoking command-D do anything?

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:14 pm

Hi, BuonTempi, motet, Skjalg, Zuill, and miker (and anyone else who tried to help me). Thanks to all of you!

Below is a copy of my recent post in the Playback section, where I'd started a parallel thread about a scrolling playback problem that probably had the same cause as the weird goings-on that I mentioned in this section:

Well, the problem is solved. And the solution's embarrassing, to say the very least.

Following MikeR's advice, I did open a support ticket with MM yesterday. Nick M. replied, asking for an SPX file but first mentioning that whereas in my product field I'd selected v 2014.5, I was licensed for v 25. A search for "Finale 25" revealed nothing more than a PDF ReadMe file but convinced me I'd better look in my apps folder, where I found v 2012, v 2014, and of course v 2014.5—and something with a redundant and far-less-than-forthcoming title: "Finale app." (Its icon, now in the dock, is less redundant but no more informative in a mouseover, yielding the single word "Finale.") Yup: a Get Info check of the icon in the apps folder showed that it was indeed v 25.1.0.232. And yes, once I opened it and then opened the file that had been behaving so bizarrely in v 2014.5, a very quick check showed that some—probably all—of those problems had gone away.

Guess I'm ready to be carted off to the funny farm. My only excuses are (1) that the app. is so determined to hide its version title and (2) that I'm an occasional user who does only 3–4 vocal charts a year.

By the way, any reason not to throw out vv 2012, 2014, and 2014.5?

Thanks, MikeR, Motet, and Buon Tempi, for trying to help this longtime Finale user (who apparently needs help not just with Finale)!
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby David Ward » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:28 pm

I would keep F 2014 and 2014.5 for now, since F 25 files can be opened in those should you need plug-ins currently not available in 25, or indeed anything else which might, however rarely, work better in those versions.
Finale 2014.5
Mac 10.12.3
User avatar
David Ward
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:48 pm
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby zuill » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:34 pm

I've got 2011, 2012, 2014, and 2014.5, as well as v25.2. I have clients and colleagues with earlier versions, and some legacy files don't convert well to newer versions. So, I do what I must do.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Must switch between views to make any changes

Postby Detroit in 68 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:25 pm

Thanks for the good advice about hanging on to older versions, David and zuill.
Detroit in 68
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5
Operating System: Mac



Similar topics


Return to General Finale Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 10 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Finale Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2017 by C.M. Press, LLC