Page 1 of 1

2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:29 am
by at8ax
New computer (Win10). Downloaded and installed 2014.5, and now trying to remember how I mapped the zero key on my number pad to be an = (tie tool). Thinking it was something in the Plug-ins collection, I look up and see -- no Plug-ins on the toolbar. Um, what? I suppose I could just copy the folder from the old machine and drop it into the tree, but is there another option?

Also, under Edit/Preferences/Palettes, I checked Use Large Tool Icons and relaunched the program. Same tiny tool icons on my new, large, high-res monitor. I'm stuck with having to squint forever?

Thanks
Jon

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:18 am
by zuill
TGTools Menu Shortcuts. Enjoy it in 2014.5, because it doesn't work in v25. They say that it does need fixing, but it's in Tobias's control.

Zuill

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:50 pm
by at8ax
Downloaded and installed TG last night, but without a Plug-ins listing, how do I access it? I've looked through all the menus, thinking maybe plug-ins had been relocated, but either I'm blind to it, or there's something seriously amiss.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:27 am
by at8ax
Yes, unzipped and installed and got the confirmation. Trouble is, my menu bar is this:

File Edit Utilities View Document MIDI/Audio Tools Window Help

No Plug-ins.

Tech support had me confirm that I have the two Plug-ins folders (I do, they contain what they're supposed to). The only solution they've offered so far is to log in as a dummy identity/administrator and try to install the program again. I haven't tried this yet. I have my IT helper coming next week for various reasons, and this will be task #1.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:30 pm
by MikeHalloran
Viewing it for the first time on a Mac is weird. You find the included plugs under the Plugins menu and then the TG Plugs menu appears as a separate header. I don't know if something similar happens in Windows.

Unless... If it is 32bit only and you are running Win10 64, it might not show up at all. Other Win10 users can help, I hope.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:28 pm
by RMK
zuill wrote:TGTools Menu Shortcuts. Enjoy it in 2014.5, because it doesn't work in v25. They say that it does need fixing, but it's in Tobias's control.



Not to be argumentative, but I just tried it on 25.2 and it works fine. No intervention from Tobias required.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:34 pm
by zuill
I should have qualified that to refer to the Lite version. Also, if you have earlier version of Finale, it destroys those so you can't use them there either. The set is saved in the registry so that all versions resident could share the same set. v25 broke that. I can't say for the full TGTools set. From your report, it appears it still works. Does the same set in TGTools full version work in 2014.5 or 2014?

Zuill

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:01 pm
by Harpsi
If you are talking about Speedy Entry, you could also try to edit the finale.ini file which resides in your user directory. Have a look at
https://www.finaletips.nu/index.php/tips-a-tricks/24-longer-texts
and actually Jari's program FinaleTweak still works.

Otherwise just add the following line to your Finale.ini:

Code: Select all
SKxxx=65632 0 0 -1 -1 25


Where you substitute xxx for the right number in your list of SK:s. 65632 is the NUM ZERO, 25 is the forward tie, the numbers in between are modifier keys. Make sure to make a copy of the file before editing it.

The advantage of this approach is that you can just keep all the shortcuts when you move to a new version of Finale. Just copy and paste.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:23 pm
by zuill
That suggestion would work if I didn't already have the Menu Shortcuts settings memorized in the Registry. As it is, earlier versions work fine with the TGTools shortcuts. Making the change in the ini file doesn't help as the shortcut corruption/incompatibility issue interferes and over-rides the change.

Fortunately, MM has confirmed the incompatibility issue and are taking steps, so they say, to resolve it.

Zuill

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:29 pm
by Harpsi
Sorry about that Zuill, my post was more directed to the OP.
Good to know that they are working on it.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:05 am
by RMK
zuill wrote: Does the same set in TGTools full version work in 2014.5 or 2014?



I can't answer that since I upgraded from 2012.

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:32 am
by zuill
The set of Menu Shortcuts I have work in 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2014.5, but v25 doesn't handle it properly. If I try to edit them in v25, it messes them up for the others. I then have to go back into a prior version to fix them. It's now an officially documented bug.

Zuill

Re: 2014.5 abridged?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:43 pm
by at8ax
I am delighted and annoyed to report that my Plug-ins/TG Tools problem has been solved. Under Edit/Preferences/Folders, the Plug-ins path was pointing to 2014 instead of 2014.5. 2014 is not installed on the new machine. I'm astonished that MM's coders made this error, and, based on tech support's inability to help me, that I'm the first person to get tripped up by it.

Jon