Timpani tunings

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Hector Pascal
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Post by Hector Pascal » Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:03 am

Hi all,

I once asked this before, but feel the need to ask again:

Should one include timpani tunings in the score and part? As a composer, I track them as I write.

Gould says not to provide them. But when I was at uni, my professor used to get us to provide them as a matter of course.

HP.

N Grossingink
Finale Version: 27.3

Post by N Grossingink » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:28 pm

As long as you're noting them on your manuscript Finale score, I'd say keep them in. However, this may be one of those little breaches of protocol where timpani players prefer to sort tunings out on their own and somehow feel offended if the information appears in the part. I'd ask a good pro or semi-pro player.

N.
N. Grossingink
Educational Band, Orchestra and Jazz Ensemble a specialty
Sample: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pFF5OeJDeLFGHMRyXrubFqZWXBubErw4/view?usp=share_link

Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.15.7
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.3, 27.3

zuill
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Post by zuill » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:31 pm

Usually, simple 2 timpani parts have 2 starting pitches, and not too hard to figure it out. Quite a few traditional parts have the 2 notes indicated. As the number of timpani increases, it is probably more important to indicate the pitches. Take a look at the timpani part to The Planets. Two players. Also, check out Mahler's 1st. Another good thing to indicate is how many timpani will be needed. 2-4 is standard, with 5 added on occasion. 2 players can be found elsewhere, aside from the 2 aforementioned examples.

Zuill

P.S.: Also, changes can be indicated in the score as well. A player can put their own in, but it is common to have them provided.
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1