How to create playable tempo expressions

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

dankreider
Finale Version: Finale 25.5
Operating System: Windows

Post by dankreider » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:33 am

I've been using a template for several years that I put a lot of time into tweaking. I want to start using "Export Audio" to create simple demos. All good for dynamics and tempo markings, but I long ago deleted the original "rit" and "accel" marks. I've since added my own, but text-only - no HP effects.

I assume the original ones actually sped up and slowed down the tempo slightly in Human Playback. How can I re-create them with their respective playback alterations?

Thanks!
Dan
Finale 25.5
Windows 10
Garritan mostly
General Editor at gracemusic.us

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:44 am

I suppose that the original "rit" and "accel" marks were expressions?

In your template, what music font is chosen as Default Music Font?
In this example let us say that the template’s Default Music Font is the Maestro font.

Open your template, and go to
File menu > Load Library…
Finale will display a directory dialog box showing the Libraries folder.
Go to the folder Maestro Font, and load the library “Expressions.lib”.
Mac OS X 12.6.9 (Monterey), Finale user since 1996

dankreider
Finale Version: Finale 25.5
Operating System: Windows

Post by dankreider » Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:24 am

Thanks, Peter. I see the library loading. It looks like playback effects on "accel" are set to "None." How do I make changes to that expression for HP?

Thanks,
Dan
Finale 25.5
Windows 10
Garritan mostly
General Editor at gracemusic.us

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:48 am