Upgrade or Switch to Sibelius?

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

meninoferoz
Operating System: Windows

Post by meninoferoz » Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:22 pm

I am studying at a school with a very well known composer who uses Sibelius and he is pushing me to move to the dark side (a.k.a. Sibelius). The majority of the school students and faculty also use Sibelius.

I currently use Finale 2012 and can do what I need the program to do, with the occasional bugs which I now tolerate. I find Finale extremely capable as well. Although it seems Sibelius can do some things faster, and the learning curve is easier, Finale seems to be more capable, even if extra steps are required for tasks.

How much difference is Finale 2012 with the latest version? Would it be wise to upgrade or switch to Sibelius?

N Grossingink
Finale Version: 27.3
Operating System: Mac

Post by N Grossingink » Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:46 pm

meninoferoz wrote:I am studying at a school with a very well known composer who uses Sibelius and he is pushing me to move to the dark side (a.k.a. Sibelius). The majority of the school students and faculty also use Sibelius.
These are good reasons to seriously consider adding Sibelius to your toolbox. You could then share files easily with others. It sounds like you already have some idea of how Sibelius works, and you'd have plenty of people to get tips from.

N.
N. Grossingink
Educational Band, Orchestra and Jazz Ensemble a specialty
Sample: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pFF5OeJDeLFGHMRyXrubFqZWXBubErw4/view?usp=share_link

Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.15.7
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.3, 27.3

ebiggs1
Finale Version: Finale 27.3

Post by ebiggs1 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:30 pm