D.C al Fine?

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Slipin Lizard
Finale Version: 27.3
Operating System: Mac

Post by Slipin Lizard » Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:16 pm

I'm relatively new to Finale. I have a simple score for piano with the marking "D.C. al Fine" at the end, and the "Fine" mark at the end of the opening passage. As I'm sure most of you know, this is an instruction to go back to the beginning, and then end at "Fine". This is very common, especially in simpler scores. I can't get Finale to do this. It will observe the "D.C. al Fine" marking, and go back to the beginning, but then it will play the whole piece through again, ignoring the "Fine" indicated. I've searched online and there's lots of people talking about multiple endings and "D.C al Coda" but no one seems to address how to get Finale to observe D.C al Fine & the Fine mark on playback, which I find surprising, because its quite common. If someone knows how to do this, would really appreciate the help! Just to be clear, before anyone posts "don't use D.C. al Fine, instead, do this "trick" to get it to work", there's no need. I'm only looking for a solution that uses the D.C. al Fine and Fine markings. The score is part of a repertoire and needs to appear in Finale exactly as it does in the book, and the repeat instructions need to be the same. Thanks!

michelp
Finale Version: 27.4.1,26.3.1, Mont.

Post by michelp » Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:25 pm

Set up the Fine to "stop on pass 2".
Michel
MacOsX 12.7.4, Finale 27.4.1 & 26.3.1, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27"' pivot, 24'"), JW Lua, RGP Lua

Slipin Lizard

Post by Slipin Lizard » Tue Feb 06, 2024 7:30 pm

michelp wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:25 pm
Set up the Fine to "stop on pass 2".