Midi Keyboard Size

Discuss playback problems, including VST, Garritan, MIDI, etc.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Auskiwi
Finale Version: Finale 2014
Operating System: Windows

Post by Auskiwi » Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:13 am

Hi - this is my first post - I have been trawling through many topics learning lots of things about Finale that is making life a bit easier, so thanks everyone!

Briefly: I am a piano teacher and have recently been required to compose music for my kids' school's use... musicals and other performance works (essentially piano & vocal, although I would like to expand into pieces for the school band/orchestras).

I enjoy the work however, I am inputting via laptop keyboard (which includes a number pad - phew!), and although this has been good, I am trying to ascertain if using a midi keyboard is a more time-efficient method.

My queries are:
- Do people use midi keyboards for input efficiency with Finale (Yes - I realise that you can't just play in real-time and have it spit out the music in a way that someone else can read it, particularly for piano works), or do they find that the computer keyboard/number pad is more efficient?
- I have limited space on our computer desk where I do this work - would a short 25 note 'board be sufficient, or would something larger (ie. 49 note) be easier, so you're note flicking through octaves. In the interest of space saving, I did look at a couple of mini-boards today (ie. Korg micro), but have written them off as being a bit too small to work comfortably, although I would love to hear if you have used/use a micro board comfortably.

Many thanks,
Auskiwi - (Finale 2014, Windows 7)
Auskiwi
Finale 2009, 2014
Windows 7

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Mon Jul 20, 2015 11:15 am

Welcome to the forum!

What would work best for you, depends on the music you are going to enter.

Since we know very little about your music, we can only give some general advice.