Finale Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Finale Script (Solved)

Discuss technical issues with keyboards, sound, video cards, etc.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Finale Script (Solved)

Postby NickG » Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:10 pm

When I first start Finale and run a script, the palette appears, dimmed. I close it and thereafter it no longer appears (which is correct) when running scripts. Is this a bug or is there a way of preventing the dimmed palette from appearing?
Last edited by NickG on Wed Jan 04, 2017 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MacBook Pro Retina Display, 16 gig ram, 1TB SSD. 4TB External drive
MacOS Sierra
Finale 2008, 2010, 2011b, 2012a, 2012c, 2014d, 25.2
GPO 4
Sibelius 1, 2, 3, 7.5 8.5
Dorico
Logic Pro X, Cubase 9
UR44 Korg M1, M-Audio Keystation Pro 88
Adobe CC
NickG
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.2
Operating System: Mac

Re: Finale Script (Solved)

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Finale Script

Postby miker » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:00 pm

It sometimes appears for me in 2014.5. Since I just started using FS, I figured it was just one of those things.
Finale 25.4.1 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.12.6 Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society
User avatar
miker
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Finale Version: Finale 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Finale Script

Postby Charles Lawrence » Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:40 pm

There is a Finalescript option to turn on/off whether the palette opens when running a script from the FS menu.

Don't know if this related or not.
Charles

Windows 10 Professional (x64) Version 1607 build 14393
3.50 GHz Intel Core i7-5930K, Multi-core (6 total), Hyper-threaded (12 total)
32638 MB Memory, 17514.37 GB usable HD


Finale 2014.5.6359, Finale 25.2.0.92
Garritan GPO4.02

User avatar
Charles Lawrence
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 3:54 am
Location: Vidalia, GA 30474
Finale Version: F25.2 on W10
Operating System: Windows

Re: Finale Script

Postby HaraldS » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:03 pm

NickG wrote:When I first start Finale and run a script, the palette appears, dimmed. I close it and thereafter it no longer appears (which is correct) when running scripts. Is this a bug or is there a way of preventing the dimmed palette from appearing?

The "dimmed" state is a transparency effect which got popular in Windows 7. You can turn that off in the options, then the palette would appear as a usual opaque window. The transparency is of some use when developing scripts, as you can still see your document through the developing window and how it changes when running a script.

You can assign hotkeys to a script. Then if you call your scripts only via these hotkeys, the palette doesn't open. That's - in my opinion - the best way to apply FinaleScripts. Although I have to admit, I seldom use them at all.

Harald
Finale 3.0-2014.5, german edition, Windows 7
mostly hardware synths/keys, Cubase 7 / trombonist, pianist, conductor / Recklinghausen, Germany
User avatar
HaraldS
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:46 am
Location: Recklinghausen, Germany
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Finale Script

Postby NickG » Wed Jan 04, 2017 1:20 pm

Charles Lawrence wrote:There is a Finalescript option to turn on/off whether the palette opens when running a script from the FS menu.

Don't know if this related or not.

Thanks, that worked just fine.
MacBook Pro Retina Display, 16 gig ram, 1TB SSD. 4TB External drive
MacOS Sierra
Finale 2008, 2010, 2011b, 2012a, 2012c, 2014d, 25.2
GPO 4
Sibelius 1, 2, 3, 7.5 8.5
Dorico
Logic Pro X, Cubase 9
UR44 Korg M1, M-Audio Keystation Pro 88
Adobe CC
NickG
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.2
Operating System: Mac



Similar topics


Return to Hardware Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Finale Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2017 by C.M. Press, LLC