Using layers - Notepad 2012

Discuss Coda's Notepad here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

mwestcott
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:06 pm
Finale Version: Notepad 2012
Operating System: Windows

Using layers - Notepad 2012

Post by mwestcott » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:20 pm

Hi,

I want to enter some choir music on 2 layers, one for the soprano part, and one for the alto part (I am not good enough on the piano to play it myself). My thought is that I could put one part on layer 1, one part on layer 2, and then mute one layer at a time to hear the parts separately, or leave them unmuted to hear them together.

Is it possible to manipulate the layers like that? I have not been able to figure out how to turn on and off the layers.

The tutorials suggest that there are some helpful options in the Document menu option, but mine only shows "Select default fonts" and "Display in Concert pitch."

I also tried creating a file solely for the soprano part, and another separate file solely for the alto part, and a third file solely for the combined parts. I tried to copy-paste the alto part to layer 2 of the combined parts file, and it overwrites both layers.

Is it possible with Notepad to copy-paste a single layer at a time? Can I play back one layer at a time?

I realize this is free software, but I would love to know if this is a limitation of Notepad, or if I should keep trying to make this work.

Thanks for any help!
M

Re: Using layers - Notepad 2012

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4373
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Using layers - Notepad 2012

Post by miker » Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:16 am

You will need to go into the Score Manager. Once there, expand the staff, and put layers 1 and 2 on different channels. Then, you can mute them individually.

https://usermanuals.finalemusic.com/Not ... nName=main
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

mwestcott
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:06 pm
Finale Version: Notepad 2012
Operating System: Windows

Re: Using layers - Notepad 2012

Post by mwestcott » Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:27 pm

Thank you! This was helpful!

I went to Window> Score Manager.
Then I expanded Piano, then expanded "Staff 1".
Then I used the M (mute) and S (solo) checkboxes to select the different layers.

I didn't have to change the channels for what I was trying to do.

I really appreciate your help!

Post Reply