Playing Electric Drums - MIDI into Finale

Discuss Finale PrintMusic here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

grooveacademy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:12 pm
Finale Version: 3.1
Operating System: Windows

Playing Electric Drums - MIDI into Finale

Post by grooveacademy » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:17 pm

Has anyone had luck playing an electric drum kit via MIDI into Finale?

If so, how do you map the sounds?
Last edited by grooveacademy on Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Playing Electric Drums - MIDI into Finale

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2829
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Playing MINI Drums info Finale

Post by zuill » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:43 pm

First off, you mean MIDI drums, not MINI drums. Second, in one post you mention PrintMusic. However, your profile says you have Finale 3.1. So, in which program are you trying to enter via MIDI drums?

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4265
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Playing MINI Drums info Finale

Post by miker » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:51 pm

How old is 3.1? It must predate 2004, since that’s my oldest.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2829
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Playing MINI Drums info Finale

Post by zuill » Thu Dec 12, 2019 6:02 pm

I started with either 3.0 or 3.1 in 1996.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

grooveacademy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:12 pm
Finale Version: 3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Playing MINI Drums info Finale

Post by grooveacademy » Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:07 am

zuill wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:43 pm
First off, you mean MIDI drums, not MINI drums. Second, in one post you mention PrintMusic. However, your profile says you have Finale 3.1. So, in which program are you trying to enter via MIDI drums?

Zuill
I'm using a 2010 version of Print Music. Not sure way it's saying 3.1. Currently using Print Music, but will be upgrading to Finale if I can be sure this will work.

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4265
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Playing Electric Drums - MIDI into Finale

Post by miker » Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:58 am

Download the demo and try it. There is a world of difference between PM2010 and Finale 26.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

Post Reply