Ties in Tablature

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Ties in Tablature

Post by JohnJSherry » Tue Aug 25, 2020 6:01 pm

Hi,
I first created the notes in the regular staff, converted them to Rhythmic Notation and then copied them to the Tab staff and every worked except a Tie at the end. I couldn't find out how to add the Tie in the Tablature. Also, is there a quick way to convert the Rhythmic Notation back to notes in the regular staff?

Thanks!

Re: Ties in Tablature

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5471
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Ties in Tablature

Post by Peter Thomsen » Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:10 pm

JohnJSherry wrote:
Tue Aug 25, 2020 6:01 pm
…converted them to Rhythmic Notation …
Why did you convert them to Rhythmic Notation?
To create TAB notation it is not necessary to, first convert the notes to Rhythmic Notation.

JohnJSherry wrote:
Tue Aug 25, 2020 6:01 pm
… I couldn't find out how to add the Tie in the Tablature …
Staff Tool.
Double-click the TAB staff, to get to the Staff Attributes.
In the Staff Attributes, in the pane Items to Display, is there a check mark next to Ties?
Mac OS X 10.15.7 (Catalina), Finale user since 1996

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Ties in Tablature

Post by JohnJSherry » Tue Aug 25, 2020 11:06 pm

Thanks Peter! Now I know how to access the tools to change the types of notation and next time I won't convert the notes to rhythmic notation in the regular staff.

Post Reply