Tab puts notes on wrong frets

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Post Reply
JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by JohnJSherry » Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:28 pm

Hi,
I just notated some chords and then dragged them onto the tab staff. I got the message box asking for the lowest fret and the default is 0 so I hit ok and on the tab, instead of the open G and D strings, it put the notes on the 5th fret of the A and D strings. If I have to fix all those notes it sure will be time consuming...

BTW, any advice on creating ties in Tab?

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by zuill » Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:37 am

Possibly the Preferences feature to respect Instrument ranges is at play. Ties are an option in Staff Attributes. There you can check the box and then TAB ties will show. If you can post a file with TAB misbehavior, we might be able to check things out.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by JohnJSherry » Tue Sep 01, 2020 6:22 am

Thanks, I've corrected the notes manually already but here's the file.

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5471
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by Peter Thomsen » Tue Sep 01, 2020 11:16 am

JohnJSherry,

1) By examining your attached Finale document we can not see your settings for the Finale program (= Preferences); we can only see your document settings.
Did you follow Zuill’s advice, and take a look at the settings in Preferences - Edit?
You should de-select the option {Respect Instrument Ranges when Copying or Changing Instruments}.

2) In the Staff Attributes for the TAB staff you have not selected display of Ties.
Mac OS X 10.15.7 (Catalina), Finale user since 1996

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by zuill » Tue Sep 01, 2020 1:18 pm

Actually, now that I see the file, I can say that this is a known Bug with Finale, and it is not new. We have reported this for years, and it has never been fixed. Sorry. Fixing this by hand is the only recourse you have.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by JohnJSherry » Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:40 pm

Thank you Zuill and Peter! As to the Preferences-Edit-Respect Instrument Range, it was already checked and I think Zuill is right about a bug there. I did also select the Staff tool and checked the Ties box and that fixed that issue.

Thanks again!

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5471
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by Peter Thomsen » Tue Sep 01, 2020 6:07 pm

JohnJSherry wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:40 pm
… As to the Preferences-Edit-Respect Instrument Range, it was already checked …
It should be un-checked.
Mac OS X 10.15.7 (Catalina), Finale user since 1996

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by zuill » Tue Sep 01, 2020 6:12 pm

However, that won't help with this known bug. It sure would have been nice if MakeMusic had listened to us years ago and fixed this wrong behavior. Checking or unchecking that option is irrelevant with this bug.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by JohnJSherry » Wed Sep 02, 2020 1:46 pm

Hi Peter, sorry I got the de-select backwards but Zuill is right. After I unchecked the box for Respect Ranges, nothing changed when I copied from notation to tab. The notes still went to higher frets on the wrong strings.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by zuill » Wed Sep 02, 2020 2:06 pm

I tried some fancy workarounds to see what might be able to simplify moderating the bug. I'm not sure if it is easier than cleaning up the mess manually. What do you do after the wrong TAB numbers are rendered to get them to the right string?

Zuill
Last edited by zuill on Wed Sep 02, 2020 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by miker » Wed Sep 02, 2020 4:30 pm

Unfortunately, expecting Finale to fix this is based on three assumptions:

1) they know how TAB should work
2) they know how to fix the faulty programming
3) they care

I wouldn't hold my breath.
Finale 26.3 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 10.15.7 Catalina
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by JohnJSherry » Wed Sep 02, 2020 11:08 pm

Hey Zuill, I hit Simple Entry and then click the proper note value and click on the tab number and in this case, use the up arrow; rinse and repeat...I'll try to go for all the eighth notes first, then quarters or dotted quarters etc. It's kind of tedious going back to clicking on the different note values but I can't use the keypad because that changes the tab.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by zuill » Wed Sep 02, 2020 11:54 pm

In Simple, I highlight the first upper 5, then press up arrow. I then press Ctrl-Down arrow to go to the lower 5, then press up arrow. I then press the right arrow and go to the next TAB needing the change. Maybe our systems work differently. Oh, you're on a Mac. The really frustrating thing is that, if you correct a measure on the TAB staff, and try to copy that to another TAB measure, the Bug reappears. So bad that there is this insidious situation. Even using the Note Mover Tool to move the notes has the same bug.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

JohnJSherry
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:53 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: Tab puts notes on wrong frets

Post by JohnJSherry » Thu Sep 03, 2020 2:19 am

Actually, I was able to copy the corrected measures in Tab to repeated measures. That would have been really tedious to have to do it over and over! Yep I am using the latest version of Finale on my new Mac Mini.

Post Reply