Show notes - and H or O shortcut doesn't work

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

canon7868
Finale Version: 26.3.1.520
Operating System: Windows

Post by canon7868 » Thu Jun 01, 2023 6:01 pm

Hi,

I'm new to finale. Have to use it because it's install on company computer and they blocked any download of unapproved program...

As a new music teacher at this school, I received the teaching material of my predecessor. He made different tests I really like but would need some changes. I have this system where all the notes are hidden and, even when I select them, will not show when pressing H or O. I tried every possible method I can find on the internet and noting works.

To clarify, the note is in gray like any other hidden note. I can select them, but not make them visible.

Is there an other way to show/hide notes that I don't know?

Thank all of you for the answers!

canon7868

Post by canon7868 » Thu Jun 01, 2023 6:03 pm

To clarify even further, I am able to hide notes of others staffs by using the H or O shortcut.
There's just this ONE system i need to change that doens't work.

canon7868

Post by canon7868 » Thu Jun 01, 2023 6:34 pm

After an hour of extensive reaserch, I found the "Define Staff Style..." tool in the staff menu. I was able to delete what used to be a new style for that system and now everything work fine.

If anyone of you have the same problem, go in the staff tool and you will be able to see a dark gray line appear on top of you staff. If you right click on it, you will be able to modify / delete it.

AnneMillington
Finale Version: 27.3.0

Post by AnneMillington » Fri Jun 02, 2023 5:49 pm

I'm glad you found the answer to this problem! You must be a very patient person, and thanks for sharing the results of your research.