Problems using tablature

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

trvd1707
Finale Version: 27.4.1.146
Operating System: Mac

Post by trvd1707 » Wed Feb 21, 2024 9:40 pm

I'm new to Finale. I used to have Encore
I'm trying to enter the tabs for a guitar staff.
I added the tab staff, selected the notes on the regular staff, and pasted them on the tab staff. The problem is that some notes were pasted as hidden, and I can't change them to make them visible on the printer.

I tried selecting the hidden note and typing option H, but it didn't work. I see that some tied notes were pasted as hidden, but sometimes the first note of a group of tied notes is also being pasted as hidden and this is the one that I want to "unhide".

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4

Post by miker » Wed Feb 21, 2024 10:01 pm

Can you post the score, or at least part of it that shows the problem?

(You may not be able to post immediately, since you’re new to the forum. If that’s the case, post it to dropbox and give us a link.)
Finale 27 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

trvd1707

Post by trvd1707 » Wed Feb 21, 2024 10:10 pm

Sure,

Here is the score: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/wt8lnm45 ... sw3gh&dl=0

If you look at the first 5 measures, you will see several notes that were pasted as hidden notes. I understand on the first measure that the last note is hidden, because it is tied to the previous note, but on the second measure, both notes on the tie were hidden. This problem happened randomly throughout the piece.

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4

Post by Peter Thomsen » Thu Feb 22, 2024 10:26 am

trvd1707 ,

Oh dear, your Finale document is a mess - many things are wrong.
I wonder how you created it.

1) Go to Window menu > ScoreManager > Instrument List
If you - in the Instrument List - click on one of the TAB staves, then you will see that the TAB staff has a Transposition: