Finale for Dummies?

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

zzzeorch

Post by zzzeorch » Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:07 am

I am not a musician and I am considering a music notation software for the following goals in order of sequence: 1. scan printed choral music, 2. separate voice parts, 3. fix scanning mistakes, 4. isolate voice part playback for practice. I have absolutely no aspiration to do complicated commands that Finale is so capable of. Currently I am trying out Finale.

1. I have tried scanning music with the built-in scanning software but there are inevitably quite a lot of mistakes that I need to fix. I just find it very prohibitive to get over the learning curve of finale to do something relatively simple. Am I using a jet fighter for grocery shopping? Are there simpler, more user-friendly software to achieve what I want to do?

2. If not, is there any good books out there for "dummies" like me? I find the tutorial and the user manual hard to follow.

3. For choral scores, when many times two voices are written on the same staff then break into two staves, I have found that after I scanned the score, finale was unable to pick up the correct staff. ie. the second staff would become the third staff. I end up using photoshop to duplicate the mixed staff (so the number of staves would be consistent thoughout the TIFF scans) Is there a way to "instruct" finale to recognize that a staff is supposed to break into two (or at least make sure the two accompaniment tracks go to the correct place?)

Peter S.
Finale Version: Finale 2009, 27
Operating System: Windows

Post by Peter S. » Tue Sep 26, 2006 5:45 am