Part incomplete, keeping its one page size after applying spacing.

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Post Reply
rodib
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:01 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26.2.1.466
Operating System: Mac

Post by rodib » Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:09 pm

As the title says,
I am trying to print a part. Since I don't like the spacing, I applied spacing to it.
But the part was 1 page long, and now it takes more space.
But there is still only one page, so my part is truncated.


User avatar
motet
Posts: 8521
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27
Operating System: Windows

Post by motet » Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:30 pm

Is Automatic Update Layout turned on in Preferences/Edit? If so, attach your file here and someone will figure it out.

User avatar
N Grossingink
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:50 pm
Finale Version: 27.3
Operating System: Mac

Post by N Grossingink » Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:33 pm

Are you saying that there should be 2 pages but the 2nd page doesn't display? If so, try "Update Layout" from the Utilities menu. Otherwise, post the part here and someone will figure it out.
N. Grossingink
Educational Band, Orchestra and Jazz Ensemble a specialty
Sample: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pFF5OeJDeLFGHMRyXrubFqZWXBubErw4/view?usp=share_link


Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.15.7
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.3, 27.3

rodib
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:01 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26.2.1.466
Operating System: Mac

Post by rodib » Thu Jun 13, 2024 6:31 am

Thank you!

Utilities/Update Layout did the job.

However, it wouldn't do anything even with Automatic Update Layout checked in the preferences...

By the way, I wonder why this (update layout) has been figured out as an option in the first place.
What's the point?

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 6713
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Thu Jun 13, 2024 7:30 am

rodib wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2024 6:31 am
… I wonder why this (update layout) has been figured out as an option in the first place.
What's the point?
Finale has existed for quite many years.

{Update Layout} goes waaay back to the time when computers had much less speed and memory than today.
Mac OS X 12.6.9 (Monterey), Finale user since 1996

User avatar
ebiggs1
Posts: 1471
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:57 am
Finale Version: Finale 27.3
Operating System: Windows

Post by ebiggs1 » Thu Jun 13, 2024 2:09 pm

Two commands you want to commit to memory is Ctrl+D and Ctrl+U. The first redraws the screen and the later updates the file.
I am sure there are similar commands for Mac users. If you use the selection tool or Ctrl+A you can specify exactly where you want and what you want updated.
Finale 27.4.1 - Perfect Layout Silver - Note Performer 4.4 - SmartScore Pro 64 - Windows 11
President, The Shawnee Concert Band, Composer/Arranger, retired Music Teacher.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 8521
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27
Operating System: Windows

Post by motet » Thu Jun 13, 2024 2:42 pm

This is an unusual situation. I never, and I mean never, need Ctrl+U.

User avatar
miker
Posts: 6092
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by miker » Thu Jun 13, 2024 2:57 pm

motet wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2024 2:42 pm
This is an unusual situation. I never, and I mean never, need Ctrl+U.
Do you have it set to Automatic?
Finale 27 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
motet
Posts: 8521
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27
Operating System: Windows

Post by motet » Thu Jun 13, 2024 3:04 pm

Yes.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 8521
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27
Operating System: Windows

Post by motet » Thu Jun 13, 2024 5:31 pm

It must be a bug that the layout isn't updated after adding measures. I usually layout all the measures at the very beginning, which may be why I haven't encountered it. I do vaguely recall that occasionally the last page didn't appear after flowing some music into it, and I think I switched between scroll and page view and that fixed it. Next time, I'll try Ctrl+U.

Recently, someone complained that when they printed their music it looked different from how it did on the screen, and it turned out that they had turned Automatic Update Layout off, and the printout reflected what the music really looked like. So I think "updating the layout" really means reflecting reality in the display, and it should be left on. Like Peter says, it's a leftover from the days when computers and displays were slow, and you could turn it off to speed things up, at the expense of periodic manual updates. In these days of fast computers, it's best left on.

Post Reply