Transpose isn't Transposing Chords

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

dstraigh
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:12 am
Finale Version: 27.3.0.160
Operating System: Mac

Post by dstraigh » Sat Jun 15, 2024 5:53 am

I've done this before in the past - and both the notes and chords would transpose. Today, only the notes transpose.

I'm using Utilities > Transpose . . .

Is there some other setting I need to be aware of to allow the chords to also transpose?

I'm just trying to transpose the attached up a whole step.

EDIT - Yes, I've done this before - but not using Utilities > Transpose . . .
I've transposed both notes and chords by changing the key signature
Key Signature Tool > Double click first measure > change key. In this case from the key of Bb to the key of C. Done!

.
Attachments
agua_de_marco_waters_of_march.musx
(136.79 KiB) Downloaded 9 times


User avatar
N Grossingink
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:50 pm
Finale Version: 27.3
Operating System: Mac

Post by N Grossingink » Sat Jun 15, 2024 11:52 am

Utilities>Change>Chords.

Check Transpose and hit the button to pick interval.
N. Grossingink
Educational Band, Orchestra and Jazz Ensemble a specialty
Sample: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pFF5OeJDeLFGHMRyXrubFqZWXBubErw4/view?usp=share_link


Mac Mini 2023 M2
OSX Sonoma 14.5
Finale 27.4.1

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 2087
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 27.4.1,26.3.1, Mont.
Operating System: Mac

Post by michelp » Sat Jun 15, 2024 12:21 pm

P.S. (reminder) : chords transpose if there is a change in the key signature, not with the Transposition command in the Utilities menu.
N. Grossingink gave you the solution.
Michel
MacOsX 12.7.5, Finale 27.4.1 & 26.3.1, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27"' pivot, 24'"), JW Lua, RGP Lua

Post Reply