Checking for not enough beats

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Post Reply
User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Sun Nov 28, 2021 7:21 pm

Occasionally my workflow for whatever reason neglects to fill the end of the measure with rests. Is there a plug-in which will check for not enough beats in a measure? Check Region for Durations also stops at overfilled measures, and I have a lot of whole rests with fermatas in 2/4 and 3/4 bars, so that won't do.

Re: Checking for not enough beats

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

mmike
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:28 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5 / 27.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by mmike » Sun Nov 28, 2021 8:52 pm

Can't really duplicate this problem, but might JW Validate be somehow useful?
Finale 3.7 > 2014.5 / 27.1, GPO5, ASUS laptops, 18.4'' displays, Intel Core i5/i7, 8/32GB RAM, WIN 8.1/10 Pro, Cubase

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:24 pm

Looks like JW Validate choosing "Notes and music" will find them--thanks!

Ian Stewart
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:46 pm
Finale Version: 26.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by Ian Stewart » Mon Nov 29, 2021 10:55 am

If you are using Speedy Entry, go to the Speedy menu and click on Speedy Options..., it's the first menu item. Five items down there is a tick box Fill with Rests at End of Measure. I'm using finale 26 so it may be different in other versions.
Finale 26.3/Dorico 3.5
Patterson Plug-Ins/TGTools
Garritan COMB/Personal Orchestra 5
MacOS Mojave (10.14.6)

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Mon Nov 29, 2021 5:19 pm

Thanks. I use that religiously, but for some reason a few measures have slipped through, especially in pieces done with older versions of Finale. I was hoping for a plug-in that has been around for a long time. JW Validate only works with newer versions.

Ian Stewart
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:46 pm
Finale Version: 26.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by Ian Stewart » Wed Dec 01, 2021 3:07 pm

Does the Note and Rests (Show) plugin work?
Finale 26.3/Dorico 3.5
Patterson Plug-Ins/TGTools
Garritan COMB/Personal Orchestra 5
MacOS Mojave (10.14.6)

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:02 pm

How is that germane?

Ian Stewart
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:46 pm
Finale Version: 26.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by Ian Stewart » Wed Dec 01, 2021 7:02 pm

motet wrote:
Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:02 pm
How is that germane?
I have not been able to recreate the problem you describe so just suggesting you try anything, no matter how remote a chance of it working.
Finale 26.3/Dorico 3.5
Patterson Plug-Ins/TGTools
Garritan COMB/Personal Orchestra 5
MacOS Mojave (10.14.6)

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Wed Dec 01, 2021 7:11 pm

OK, thanks. No, that doesn't seem to check for too-few beats; it just hides or unhides everything.

JW Validate will suffice. I need to convert all my old files to a new Finale version anyhow so I can use the latest MusicXML export to make XML versions of everything as a lifeboat measure.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Wed Dec 01, 2021 7:16 pm

Ian Stewart wrote:
Wed Dec 01, 2021 7:02 pm
I have not been able to recreate the problem you describe
It's easy enough to do something like this if you turn off the "fill with rests" option in Speedy or Simple entry. I always have that option on, but encounter occasional places where there are rests missing anyway. Could be from a bug or from pilot error. Many of my files were done ten or more years ago.
Attachments
1049.png
1049.png (21.12 KiB) Viewed 250 times

Ian Stewart
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:46 pm
Finale Version: 26.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by Ian Stewart » Wed Dec 01, 2021 9:25 pm

I can recreate it by doing what you said but it is the inconsistency I haven't experienced. I have some old files so will see if the same thing happens to them and get back if the same problem exists.
Finale 26.3/Dorico 3.5
Patterson Plug-Ins/TGTools
Garritan COMB/Personal Orchestra 5
MacOS Mojave (10.14.6)

Ian Stewart
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:46 pm
Finale Version: 26.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by Ian Stewart » Wed Dec 01, 2021 9:41 pm

I have opened several scores now, some going back to 2005 - all the rests are as they should be. Sometime ago I opened a score from an early version of Finale and it was a mess; it took ages to get it properly imported into the new version of Finale.

Just a wild guess but would File Maintenence in Data Check work?
Finale 26.3/Dorico 3.5
Patterson Plug-Ins/TGTools
Garritan COMB/Personal Orchestra 5
MacOS Mojave (10.14.6)

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Checking for not enough beats

Post by motet » Wed Dec 01, 2021 11:10 pm

No, but there is Utilities/Check notation/Fill with rests. Unfortunately it doesn't report what it's done, so can I trust it? I turns this (real whole rest)
.
1050.png
1050.png (38.03 KiB) Viewed 193 times
.
into this
.
1051.png
1051.png (42.27 KiB) Viewed 193 times
.
in the typical MakeMusic fashion of not thinking beyond the obvious. Such situations are rare, but they do exist.

My pieces have a lot of parts and measures, so proofreading is error-prone, since one's eyes glaze over after a while. So I guess I'll go the JW Validate route (which does not regard a whole rest in 5/4 or 6/4 as missing rests).

Post Reply