Finale Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Metronome VOLUME!

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Metronome VOLUME!

Postby SMS » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:17 am

Is there some trick to lowering the volume of Finale's metronome? The velocity settings in the dialog do nothing for me. Like a freaking icepick in the ear.
Finale 25.2
Mac OS 10.12.3
MacBook Pro late 2012
2.9 Ghz i7
16 GB ram
1TB internal SSD
SMS
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:35 am
Finale Version: 2012

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby zuill » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:01 am

The Finale Click is based on an audio sample, and is not adjustable. This is a longstanding issue. In order to get adjustability, you need to use the rim click from a drum sample. Choose the MIDI option in the metronome options.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.5
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby SMS » Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:05 pm

Thank you.
Finale 25.2
Mac OS 10.12.3
MacBook Pro late 2012
2.9 Ghz i7
16 GB ram
1TB internal SSD
SMS
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:35 am
Finale Version: 2012

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby SMS » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:12 pm

OK, where can I specify the destination for the metronome MIDI data? Only see settings for note/channel, etc.

Thanks
Finale 25.2
Mac OS 10.12.3
MacBook Pro late 2012
2.9 Ghz i7
16 GB ram
1TB internal SSD
SMS
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:35 am
Finale Version: 2012

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby zuill » Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:49 am

Are you using MIDI or Audio Units?

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.5
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby SMS » Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:29 am

I'm deducing by your question that it's going to use whatever I have set up for that channel in the playback settings- makes sense; I'll try that.
Finale 25.2
Mac OS 10.12.3
MacBook Pro late 2012
2.9 Ghz i7
16 GB ram
1TB internal SSD
SMS
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:35 am
Finale Version: 2012

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby zuill » Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:32 am

With MIDI, it should be automatic. With Audio Units, you will have to choose a drum set for the Channel 10 slot in the first bank. I choose Fusion Drum Set.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.5
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby SMS » Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:24 am

Thanks
Finale 25.2
Mac OS 10.12.3
MacBook Pro late 2012
2.9 Ghz i7
16 GB ram
1TB internal SSD
SMS
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:35 am
Finale Version: 2012

Re: Metronome VOLUME!

Postby MelloCello » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:02 am

This is among the most infuriating pieces of software I have ever suffered with. The only metronome options I can find is Click and Countoff and playback controls. I mean no rudeness or offense, but this advice, for me, was not clear enough. Would you perhaps care to elaborate?
MelloCello
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:54 am
Finale Version: 25.5.0.259
Operating System: Mac



Similar topics

volume
Forum: Playback Issues Author: rbsalyer Replies: 1

Notes with Different Volume
Forum: Playback Issues Author: lauralynnwalsh Replies: 4

Countoff volume control
Forum: Beginners Author: GarryW Replies: 5


Return to General Finale Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Finale Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC