Renaming staves in v25

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Mister Bebop
Finale Version: 26.0.0.653
Operating System: Windows

Post by Mister Bebop » Wed May 23, 2018 1:31 pm

I am working on extracting parts from a score somebody else did, and I am fairly new to Version 25 (I was keeping up from '98 through 2009 but had to get Version 25 to work on these scores).

For some reason, the names of the staves for Guitar, Piano RH and Piano LH (grouped into Piano) are not cooperating. :D

They are three distinct parts, yet Guitar and Piano LH seem to share names. When I name the Guitar line "Guitar" the Piano LH turns into Guitar. And when I change Piano LH back to Piano LH, then Guitar changes to Piano LH.

I have been losing my religion on this one, and am finally just asking the forum . . . how on earth do I make sure all the names stay put?

Also, when extracting the Piano (group), I cannot seem to find where I extract a group to make a grand staff piano part.

Thank you in advance for your help!

zuill
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1

Post by zuill » Wed May 23, 2018 1:41 pm

Extracting a part uses the name assigned to the Linked Part. Make sure the Linked part has the correct name.

As far as the name changing problem, without seeing a file, I wouldn't be able to say.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by Peter Thomsen » Wed May 23, 2018 1:48 pm

Mister Bebop wrote:I am working on extracting parts from a score somebody else did, and I am fairly new to Version 25 …
For some reason, the names of the staves for Guitar, Piano RH and Piano LH (grouped into Piano) are not cooperating.