Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

SamGroude
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:04 pm
Finale Version: 26
Operating System: Mac

Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by SamGroude » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:14 pm

I would like to add space between the staves of a single system by manually dragging the staves down until I have the desired identical distance between all the staves. I haven't been able to figure out how to do this and would really appreciate any help you can provide.

Finale 25 on Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4539
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by miker » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:18 pm

One way is to note the numbers that show up as you drag them up or down.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
N Grossingink
Posts: 1375
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:50 pm
Finale Version: 2012, 25.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by N Grossingink » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:32 pm

Also-

Staff Tool - highlight all measures in the system. Go to the Staff Menu and pick Respace Staves. Under "Space Above Each Selected Staff" enter an appropriate amount, usually about 1 inch - hit OK. It might take a little experimentation using larger or smaller amounts as needed, but the staves will be spaced evenly.

N.
N. Grossingink
Department of Public Works Music Engraving Inspector - Milwaukee, WI


Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.12.6
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.2
Dorico 3.1

SamGroude
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:04 pm
Finale Version: 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by SamGroude » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:34 pm

Thanks. How do I drag the staves in a system so that they all respace equally. I can drag a staff so that it moves up or down along with the staves below it. But I need to respace all the staves manually so that they all move proportionally and fill the page. Is there a way to do this by dragging manually rather than entering a number in respace staves?

Nick Mazuk
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:29 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by Nick Mazuk » Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:37 pm

Hi Sam,

If I understand what you want to do correctly, you want to respace things so entire system so it fills the page.

If that's the case, a year ago I wrote a JW Lua script that will resize the system so it fills the page. You can get it here:

https://nickmazuk.com/Resources/JWLua#s ... pageheight

I think it will accomplish what you want to do, but it doesn't do it in the way that you mentioned. Instead of simply adding space between the staves, it simply resizes everything proportionately, including the staves themselves.

If you've never used JW Lua before, here's a link to the website as well as a video that shows how to get started.
http://jwmusic.nu/jwplugins/wiki/doku.php?id=jw_lua
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFGNuGCEIq4

Hope this helps.
Nick

User avatar
dankreider
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:14 pm
Finale Version: Finale 25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by dankreider » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:55 pm

If I understand you correctly, double click on the handle to move the staff down. It’ll move all of them the same.
Finale 25.5
Windows 10
Garritan mostly
General Editor at gracemusic.us

User avatar
motet
Posts: 4555
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by motet » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:58 pm

The does all systems no?

If you want to drag one and have all the staves widen at the same time, I don't think that's possible.

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1591
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1, 25.5, Mojave
Operating System: Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by michelp » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:16 pm

Staff tool. Select the handles of all staves except the top one and use the up/down arrows. This will respace staff 2 to last.
In the Layout tool, you can move the whole system up or down to a good position on the page.
Michel
MacOsX 10.14.6, Finale 26.3.1, 25.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

SamGroude
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:04 pm
Finale Version: 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Manually re-spacing staves within a system by dragging

Post by SamGroude » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:31 pm

Thanks Michel. This is exactly what I was looking for and I really appreciate your reply. I didn't realize that the top staff needed to remain "unselected" for this to work.

This is really helpful. Thanks again!

Post Reply