copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Post Reply
ckohl16
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:03 pm
Finale Version: 25.5.0.290
Operating System: Windows

copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by ckohl16 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:42 pm

Say I want to give every part in a score an "sfz" or a hairpin in the same measure. Is there a shortcut, instead of having to click each part individually, select from the expression tool, etc?

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Nick Mazuk
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:29 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by Nick Mazuk » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:57 pm

Hi There,

You can actually copy/paste in Finale using filters.
  • Edit > Edit Filter: Check the boxes for the specific things you want to copy
  • Edit > Use Filter: Make sure this option is checked
  • Copy/Paste like normal
  • When done, Edit > Use Filter: Make sure this option is unchecked so copy/paste works how you'd expect
About a year ago the Finale Blog did a post on this that you might wish to check out: https://www.finalemusic.com/blog/finale ... save-time/

Hope this helps,

Nick
Nick

ckohl16
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:03 pm
Finale Version: 25.5.0.290
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by ckohl16 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:13 pm

Thank you!

User avatar
motet
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by motet » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:23 pm

If you select the source with the Selection tool and then Cltr+Alt+click in the topmost destination measure, there's an option to copy to all staves to the bottom at once.

ckohl16
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:03 pm
Finale Version: 25.5.0.290
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by ckohl16 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:33 pm

One more thing: Actually, I can't seem to get crescendo marks to copy. And, with other items it asks which staves to assign the expression. It doesn't seem to just copy+paste. I made sure that smart shapes are included in the filter.

User avatar
N Grossingink
Posts: 1285
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:50 pm
Finale Version: 2012, 25.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by N Grossingink » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:51 pm

ckohl16 wrote:One more thing: Actually, I can't seem to get crescendo marks to copy. And, with other items it asks which staves to assign the expression. It doesn't seem to just copy+paste. I made sure that smart shapes are included in the filter.
Is "Smart Shapes (Attached to Measures)" checked in the filter? Is the hairpin attached to the measure you want to copy from? Alt/Click on the handle to make sure the attachment is OK.

N.
N. Grossingink
Department of Public Works Music Engraving Inspector - Milwaukee, WI


Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.12.6
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.2

User avatar
motet
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by motet » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:58 pm

If the hairpin spans more than one measure, all the measures it spans must be selected for it to copy.

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by michelp » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:00 pm

Another method : drag a vertical rectangle over the notes in all staves and select the expression or articulation.
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by zuill » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:03 pm

The easiest way to copy hairpins to other staves is with Jari's JW pattern plugin.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

ckohl16
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:03 pm
Finale Version: 25.5.0.290
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by ckohl16 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:59 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/q1zc31i1rp3j5 ... 6.png?dl=0
When I try to copy articulation to multiple staves, I'm not getting that option it the box (see screenshot). This is what always seems to happen when I try it with smart shapes, but articulations used to work. Any ideas? Filter is checked for articulations.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by zuill » Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:55 pm

That screen shot doesn't show a Finale dialogue box. Maybe we need more info and a better screen shot.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

ckohl16
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:03 pm
Finale Version: 25.5.0.290
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by ckohl16 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:02 pm


User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by zuill » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:11 pm

That link doesn't work for me. Can't see a thing. Can't you just attach the picture to your post the normal way? That is better for us.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

ckohl16
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:03 pm
Finale Version: 25.5.0.290
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by ckohl16 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:57 pm

I'm working on it, but unable to paste the shot. But, when I Rclick on an accent, the only choices in the dialogue box are:
edit articulation definition
remove manual adjustments
show (which is checked)
unlink
relink (which is grey)
delete

I don't get the choice to copy to all staves, of copy to staves

User avatar
motet
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: copy dynamic or articulation markings to all parts

Post by motet » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:57 pm

You need to highlight the measure in the Selection tool, then you can copy using the filter, either with Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V, or by various mouse clicks. Read up on it in the manual.

Post Reply