Creep

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Hector Pascal
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Post by Hector Pascal » Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:02 am

Hi all (esp. Buontempi, if you are watching!)

I am studying the subject of creep, so that I can set the correct values in Buontempi's PDF Booklet maker software.

My research suggested that I first print a booklet, then manually measure the creep at the spine.

So, I used standard A4 copy paper and made a little "study score" booklet comprising 32 pages / 8 sheets. After saddlestitch stapling it, I measured 3mm of creep at the spine.

Now, 3mm in the Postscript world is 8.5 points ( I think). Buon's default setting in the software is 0.5 points. According to my calculations, I would need to specify a setting of 8.5 points.

Can anyone confirm if I am on the right track?

Cheers,
Hector.

motet
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27
Operating System: Windows

Post by motet » Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:15 am

3 mm or 8.5 points seems about right for the difference between how much the innermost and outermost pages stick out, i.e., how much you will trim off the booklet. Perhaps the author's number is a per-page number. Since there are 8 pages, you would trim off about 1 more point for each page as you go from outer to inner, arriving at 8 points for the innermost page. To keep the margins even, you would increasingly move the image towards the gutter for each successive page by a distance of half that amount, or 0.5 points. So maybe that's the number that you specify to the program.

BuonTempi
Finale Version: Finale 27

Post by BuonTempi » Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:24 am

Hector,

The creep function in my script is fairly crude, but if you look at it, it moves the position of each page on the sheet away from the edge by the set value. The next sheet increments the process, so it's a per sheet value.

Code: Select all

# Set creep for next sheet.