Parenthetical key signature

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

vlaw
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows

Post by vlaw » Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:12 pm

On some music in my library, a piece will have a parenthetical clef and key signature.

For example, if tuba and bari sax have the same part, a publisher might elect to, instead of providing a separate part for each, print only a tuba part. Then on that tuba part, after the bass clef and key signature (say, A-flat), the publisher will put in parentheses a treble clef and a key signature of F. This indicates that the bari sax player can read the tuba part as if it is in treble clef in the key of F, and it totally works. It's rare, but I'm a music librarian and this does turn up occasionally.

Is there a way to achieve this effect in Finale? It happens to be just what I need right now.

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by miker » Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:40 am

I did this with text expressions. Just took a couple of minutes.
Finale 27 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

N Grossingink
Finale Version: 27.3

Post by N Grossingink » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:07 am

vlaw wrote:…and it totally works.
Well, not quite.

Some accidentals will be naturals in the Tuba part, but sharps in the Baritone part–Tuba A natural will be Baritone F sharp, E natural will be C sharp, etc. The lowest note on a Baritone with the low A key is concert C–anything below that must be played up an octave. Not all Baritones have the low A key and are limited to B flat (concert D flat). Experienced players will work around these easily–others might have problems.

Given the ease with which you can make transposed parts natively within Finale, I'd urge you to make a separate properly notated Baritone Sax part with range adjustments done with good voice leading.

N.
N. Grossingink