Finale Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Mute Dynamics

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Mute Dynamics

Postby jose oscar » Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:06 am

It's possible to mute dynamics , only to listen without forte, piano, sf,.. only for Playback ?


I appreciate your always valuable help



Finale 2014/Windows 7
jose oscar
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:57 am
Location: MADRID
Finale Version: Finale 2014 Windows
Operating System: Windows

Re: Mute Dynamics

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby Peter Thomsen » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:28 am

You can edit an expression, and set its playback effect to None.
This is done in the Expression Designer, in the chiclet Playback.
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), Finale user since 1996
User avatar
Peter Thomsen
 
Posts: 5856
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Danmark
Finale Version: Finale v26.1
Operating System: Mac

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby jose oscar » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:54 pm

Peter Thomsen wrote:You can edit an expression, and set its playback effect to None.
This is done in the Expression Designer, in the chiclet Playback.


Thank you, Peter,
then the route is:
Edit text expression definition/ Playback/ Type/ None

I see then that I should do that for each expression of dynamics that is on the score. No way to mute all at once
jose oscar
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:57 am
Location: MADRID
Finale Version: Finale 2014 Windows
Operating System: Windows

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby michelp » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:25 pm

Another workaround : make a copy of the score, and in the expressions tool, select all the expressions of the dynamics category and click the delete button.

You could also try the JW Change plug-in (after selecting the region) -> Expressions -> Playback Assignment : in the popup menu, try to change to an empty layer, or chords.
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')
User avatar
michelp
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Location: Belgium
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby jose oscar » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:04 am

michelp wrote:Another workaround : make a copy of the score, and in the expressions tool, select all the expressions of the dynamics category and click the delete button.

You could also try the JW Change plug-in (after selecting the region) -> Expressions -> Playback Assignment : in the popup menu, try to change to an empty layer, or chords.


Thank yoy, michelp:

1) The 1st solution is ok, although a bit embarrasing

2) For the 2nd solution , where is JW Change plug-in ? I cannot find it
jose oscar
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:57 am
Location: MADRID
Finale Version: Finale 2014 Windows
Operating System: Windows

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby miker » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:00 am

You can find all of Jari’s plugins here:

http://www.finaletips.nu/index.php/down ... or-windows
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society
User avatar
miker
 
Posts: 4428
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby mmike » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:44 pm

michelp wrote: try the JW Change plug-in (after selecting the region) -> Expressions -> Playback Assignment : in the popup menu, try to change to an empty layer, or chords.
I was originally going to suggest that, because it seemed an elegant solution. After selecting everything (and also individual staves as a test) I changed the layers for Expressions > Layer + Playback Assignments to Layer 4 and set (in Document Options) Layer 4 to no playback, but that doesn't work (neither with nor without Human Playback). Is this done incorrectly? Or does the plug-in not work as intended?
Finale 3.7 - 2014.5, GPO5, Cubase, ASUS laptop, Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM, WIN 8.1 (64-bit), 18.4'' display
mmike
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:28 pm
Location: Europe
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Mute Dynamics

Postby michelp » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:07 pm

mmike,

I did the same tests, and you are correct, the method doesn't work. I even started with a change in Layer Assignment first, before assigning Playback to another layer. No improvement.
I'm perplex !
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')
User avatar
michelp
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Location: Belgium
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac



Similar topics


Return to General Finale Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Finale Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC