Finale Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

Postby wonder » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:58 pm

I'm exporting a simple piano notation to Midi to import into Digital Performer.

I bring up DP's Quickscribe and see that the notes are different ... almost as if they've been inverted up.

Picts attached.

What am i doing wrong?

This is measure 1.

Its for some reason adding a D above High C when that note isn't in Finale.

FINALE
Screen Shot 2019-03-06 at 7.55.00 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-06 at 7.55.00 AM.png (45.34 KiB) Viewed 104 times

DIGITAL PERFORMER
Screen Shot 2019-03-06 at 7.55.13 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-06 at 7.55.13 AM.png (13.3 KiB) Viewed 104 times
Finale v26, Digital Performer 9, ProTools 12. Mac.
User avatar
wonder
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:42 pm
Location: L.A.
Finale Version: v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

Postby zuill » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:04 pm

Because you have a Chord Symbol, Finale is exporting that to MIDI as well. Generally, triads are in Root Position when rendered from the Chord Symbol. Try turning off Chord Symbol playback in the Chord Menu and see what results you get. If you want the Chord Symbols to be rendered to MIDI, then you'll just have to live with the results as is.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.5
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

Postby wonder » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:08 pm

I literally just figured out it was the chords.

I muted the CHORD playback in the Instrument list for both staves and it still exported the chords.

This is a real bummer.

I'm going to have to delete the chords, export, then paste the chords back in.
Finale v26, Digital Performer 9, ProTools 12. Mac.
User avatar
wonder
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:42 pm
Location: L.A.
Finale Version: v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

Postby wonder » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:11 pm

I selected ALL, COPY, DELETE CHORDS, EXPORT MIDI, then re-paste the chords back in and that did what I wanted.

Thanks for the help
Finale v26, Digital Performer 9, ProTools 12. Mac.
User avatar
wonder
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:42 pm
Location: L.A.
Finale Version: v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Exporting Midi Changes Notes??

Postby zuill » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:26 pm

Odd. I turned off Chord playback in the Chord menu, and muted chord playback in the Score Manager, and both stifled the Chord Symbols from being rendered to MIDI. However, I'm using Finale 25 on Windows. Maybe Finale 26 on a Mac yields different behavior.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v25.5
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."
User avatar
zuill
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Location: Southern California
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v25.5
Operating System: Windows



Similar topics


Return to General Finale Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Finale Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC