Score Manager transposition help with “other”

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

heinzfan
Finale Version: 27
Operating System: Windows

Post by heinzfan » Fri May 10, 2019 5:15 pm

I’m just an amateur/hobbyist doing a midi version from an existing full score, and I’m not concerned with printing, only playback. The piece is in c minor. In the full score the Bb trumpet staff carries no key signature, where in common practice it would usually display a single flat, which the score manager does if a Bb instrument transposition is selected.

I originally set the transposition of the part in the score manager to “other,” set the interval to “1” and the key alter to “3.” While it looked fine it didn’t play back correctly. I reverted to my older Finale days and in the staff attributes made the key signature independent and changed it to A minor, then inserted a midi instruction to play the “c” trumpet sound sample down a major second.

Is there some way to achieve the same result in the score manager?
Finale 27, Windows 10, VST: Vienna Instruments/Ensemble/Synchron, Cubase, Kontakt 5

zuill
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1

Post by zuill » Fri May 10, 2019 5:24 pm

Call me confused. Do you want a key signature to show? If so, choose the normal transposition, not other.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

motet
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27

Post by motet » Fri May 10, 2019 6:21 pm

If all you care about is playback, use B-flat transposition and let the flat show as Zuill says. If there are then some written B-flats that should be B-natural, you'll have to alter the notes individually rather than trying to fix them with transposition.

Interval = 1 and key alter = 3 is not a diatonic transposition, so won't sound right.

heinzfan

Post by heinzfan » Fri May 10, 2019 8:08 pm