volume

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

rbsalyer
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:46 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

volume

Post by rbsalyer » Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:03 am

I'd like to change the volume level of separate measures on individual staffs...an example would be to raise the trumpet volume at letter A..or bring the piano up at measure twenty, then back down at measure 23...

is there a way to do this other than assigning P's and F's?

rb

Re: volume

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2823
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: volume

Post by zuill » Mon Jun 17, 2019 12:40 pm

One way is with the MIDI Tool. Change the Volume up where needed, then back down afterward. This can also be accomplished with an expression using a MIDI volume command.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Bill Stevens
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:37 pm
Finale Version: 26.2
Operating System: Mac

Re: volume

Post by Bill Stevens » Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:10 pm

If there is a reason you don't want dynamic markings in your piece, remember that you can use f's and p's and other dynamics but mark them to not show. You can either do that individually with markings, or create dynamics that are hidden. (You will still see them on screen as gray.)

Bill
Version 26.2.1 / Mac OS 10.15 Catalina
Finale user since the beginning of time.

ebiggs1
Posts: 471
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:57 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5 - 26.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: volume

Post by ebiggs1 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:42 pm

Hiding what you don't want shown is the easiest, fastest, way if they are unwanted.
Finale 2014.5 - Finale 26
Window 10

Nick Mazuk
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:29 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: volume

Post by Nick Mazuk » Fri Jun 21, 2019 1:36 am

If you are going to do this constantly, you can create hidden dynamics. Just go to the expression dialogue box, edit, uncheck "Use Dynamics Category Fonts", highlight everything, check "Hidden",

1. Go to the expression dialogue box
2. Click "Edit…"
3. Uncheck "Use Dynamics Category Fonts"
4. Highlight the entire dynamic text
5. Check "Hidden"
6. Click "OK" then "Assign" to put it into the score

Then, you can reuse that same dynamic other places and ensure it's always hidden.
Nick

fcopaja
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:35 pm
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Mac

Re: volume

Post by fcopaja » Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:40 pm

Hi, related to this, how can I set the sf expression so it doesn't accent the note too much?
I can't find where the intensity can be manipulated.
Finale 25 for Mac, Human Playback on

Thanks
Felipe

Post Reply