Spacing

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

CRIMSON
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 10:34 am
Finale Version: 2014,5
Operating System: Windows

Spacing

Post by CRIMSON » Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:07 pm

Finale 2014.5 How to avoid such spacing issues?

Re: Spacing

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

oldmkvi
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:13 pm
Finale Version: 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Spacing

Post by oldmkvi » Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:38 pm

Update Layout might fix it.
Or Special Tools, move accidental.

User avatar
N Grossingink
Posts: 1375
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:50 pm
Finale Version: 2012, 25.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Spacing

Post by N Grossingink » Mon Jan 06, 2020 4:28 pm

One way:

Use Special Tools > Accidental Mover to move the flat on the A so that it's even with the flat on the E. Respace the measure.

You're going to have to reset the flat on the A to its normal position. I'd leave this until you're completely done because this trick is not spacing-proof. Turn off Automatic Music Spacing, select Accidental Mover, select the handle and press delete (backspace).
Screen Shot 2020-01-06 at 10.21.03 AM.png
N. Grossingink
Department of Public Works Music Engraving Inspector - Milwaukee, WI


Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.12.6
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.2
Dorico 3.1

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4538
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Spacing

Post by miker » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:19 pm

It might be something as simple as applying music spacing, followed by update layout.

EDIT: Nope. Definitely a flaw on Finale's part. Even with just two measures on a line, it crowds. I tried moving with the beat chart, but that did not survive respacing measures with Music Spacing > Incorporate.

This is not the first time I've experienced spacing and collision errors between layers, regardless of settings.

The full 64-bit rewrite better be mighty good...
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

ebiggs1
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:57 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5 - 26.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Spacing

Post by ebiggs1 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:26 pm

Could be too many measures in too small space. You will reach a point where there just isn't enough room for all the info required.
Finale 26 - Perfect Layout - Windows 10
President, The Shawnee Concert Band

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3342
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Spacing

Post by zuill » Wed Jan 08, 2020 6:19 am

One trick I've used is to attach an articulation to the note that uses a blank character (so it doesn't show). I then move it over to the left. It might take a bit of experimenting. For this to work, Articulations must be selected as an item to affect spacing in Spacing Options.

Zuill
Attachments
Articulation Trick for Spacing.jpg
Articulation Trick for Spacing.jpg (14.37 KiB) Viewed 773 times
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Anders Hedelin
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:34 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: Spacing

Post by Anders Hedelin » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:12 pm

Thanks N Grossingink for your very elegant solution! I will definitely try that when the issue pops up next time. Waiting for MM to do something about it of course...
Finale 26.3
Windows 10

Anders Hedelin
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:34 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: Spacing

Post by Anders Hedelin » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:18 pm

By the way, here's a discussion about this and related issues:
https://makemusic.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/ ... g-problems
Finale 26.3
Windows 10

Post Reply