Fermata Trouble

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Gary Fagan
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:36 am
Finale Version: Finale 26, Note Perf
Operating System: Mac

Fermata Trouble

Post by Gary Fagan » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:37 pm

Using Finale 26.2.2 on a Mac. Been having this problem for over a year now. Can't figure a solution.
Here is a description of the scenario:
Piece starts at a given tempo (say MM=120). Piece then reaches a fermata. Following the fermata there is a new tempo (say MM=86)
When playing back, The fermata executes fine but whatever comes after the fermata is not at MM=86. It reverts back to MM=120. I have checked the playback parameters on the new tempo of MM=86 but Finale ignores this and goes back to whatever the original tempo was. It does this even after multiple fermatas. It's like a fermata cancels out any new tempo indication. The next tempo is always ignored and the playback reverts to the same old MM=120.

By the way. If I go to Scroll View and start the section after the fermata (the fermata is off-screen) the new tempo plays back at the correct value. It must be the fermata that is messing things up.

Any help appreciated.
Gary

Re: Fermata Trouble

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5634
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fermata Trouble

Post by motet » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:55 pm

Someone just reported this the other day, and it is in fact the fermata (Human Playback). It is unlikely to be fixed. You could try changing the HP setting to not ritard. on fermatas, if that is acceptible. Another solution might be to attach the new tempo mark to the second note of the new tempo, or maybe add a playback-only expression to the second beat, specifying the correct tempo. Or attaching the fermata to a different note. Anything to separate fermata and new tempo mark.

Gary Fagan
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:36 am
Finale Version: Finale 26, Note Perf
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fermata Trouble

Post by Gary Fagan » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:01 pm

Thanks for the advice. I will continue to play around with your suggestions, though I have alread tried a few of them to no avail. I'll keep trying.

Thanks again.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5634
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fermata Trouble

Post by motet » Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:08 pm

Can you show a screen shot of what the music looks like where the fermata is? I just tried to reproduce it and couldn't.

Gary Fagan
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:36 am
Finale Version: Finale 26, Note Perf
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fermata Trouble

Post by Gary Fagan » Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:34 pm

I think I figured out a solution to my fermata issue. I tried this:

Go to Human Playback Preferences (under the MIDI/Audio Menu)
Select MIDI Data
For Tempo, select "No HP Effect"

This seems to have fixed that specific problem.

I am having trouble attaching a screen shot of that page. Getting a message that the file is too big.

Gary

DScheiber
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2021 2:37 pm
Finale Version: 27
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fermata Trouble

Post by DScheiber » Sun Sep 19, 2021 4:29 am

Using Finale 27 for Mac. My fermatas are ignored completely by playback. Anyone know how to fix this?

User avatar
miker
Posts: 5105
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fermata Trouble

Post by miker » Sun Sep 19, 2021 4:36 am

How are you starting and stopping playback?
Finale 26.3 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

Post Reply