Converting from a Sibelius File?

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

mark carlson
Finale Version: Finale 27
Operating System: Mac

Post by mark carlson » Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:03 pm

I once had someone copy two pieces of mine into Sibelius at a time when I thought I might convert. I never did convert, and now I really want to edit those files without having to start copying from scratch.

Is there a feasible way to import them into Finale and actually have it work so that I can do my editing in Finale, which I've been using since 1989?

Mark

OS 10.15.4
Finale 26.3.1

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4

Post by miker » Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:08 pm

Do you have a PDF? That could be scanned and exported as XML, and imported into Finale.

Do you have the Sibelius files? Maybe someone with Sibelius could open them, and export as XML.

I’ve sent you a PM.
Finale 27 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

mark carlson

Post by mark carlson » Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:10 pm

miker wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:08 pm
Do you have a PDF? That could be scanned and exported as XML, and imported into Finale.

Do you have the Sibelius files? Maybe someone with Sibelius could open them, and export as XML.

I’ve sent you a PM.
I do have the Sibelius files, and I also have Sibelius. So are you saying that if it is exported as XML, I can import that into Finale and it will work?

miker

Post by miker » Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:34 pm

From Google:

To save a Sibelius score as a MusicXML file, go to the Plug-ins menu and select the MusicXML submenu. Then select the “Export MusicXML” item. You will then see a standard save dialog box asking where to save the XML file. By default, this will be the same as your existing Sibelius file name, with “.

It certainly should. Remember, you IMPORT it into Finale.
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura

motet
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005,27