Changes in Guitar TAB v26?

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Fulcanelli
Finale Version: Finale 2009
Operating System: Windows

Post by Fulcanelli » Fri May 07, 2021 2:48 pm

I have been using Finale since 2007 and this new version is driving me to the nut house. I know there are issues with tuning, especially that nasty "G" chord with open strings. Whoever programed Finale way back when ... are these problems due to the coder not programming TAB to proper standard tuning? I used to complain about this problem, for years and they haven't fix it.

But now I'm having new problems - with TAB note alignment during the editing process. I will attach a score that I'm working on that is driving me nuts. Measure 18 is a mess!

Is there a way to permanently fix this by applying a default setting? Most of my work is with guitar TAB.

And another odd problem. When I print this to PDF using Micro$oft's Print to PDF function, the 'printed' PDF has differences. For instance in measure 7, the G/B chord...the PDF file my friend received does not have the lowest note (B) and in fact no note on the fifth string and a G on the fourth string (5th fret.) Is this a Finale problem or a Micro$oft problem? In either event, it is MY problem.

HelP?
Beatles_Yesterday_C_Apr2021_may5.musx
(212.86 KiB) Downloaded 68 times

zuill
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1

Post by zuill » Fri May 07, 2021 3:35 pm

I cleaned up bar 18. In the notation staff, there was misalignment, and beat 3 had a dotted 16th followed by an 8th, which probably should have been a 16th followed by a dotted 8th. Also, there were offsets to the horizontal position of some of the notes. Easily fixed by the JW Change plugin.