hide empty staves

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Post Reply
musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Sat Sep 11, 2021 11:46 pm

In the attached file I'm trying to hide empty staves,
which are "ossia" notations after the score. I'm clicking on the
empty staves and choosing "staff" and "hide empty staves"
but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-09-11 at 4.41.23 PM.jpeg

Re: hide empty staves

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5633
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by motet » Sun Sep 12, 2021 1:07 am

Make sure there aren't real whole rests in those measures.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5633
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by motet » Sun Sep 12, 2021 1:08 am

There there aren't, attach your .musx file and someone will take a look.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Sun Sep 12, 2021 1:39 am

See the last page of the attached file. Thanks.
motet wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 1:08 am
There there aren't, attach your .musx file and someone will take a look.
Attachments
TESTNV.musx
(98.15 KiB) Downloaded 19 times

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5678
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.3.1.643
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by Peter Thomsen » Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:34 am

The culprit is the Piano staff group.

If you examine the Group Attributes for the Piano staff group, then you will see that the pop up menu
When Hiding Empty Staves
is set to
Only Hide If All Staves Empty

Instead, choose
Hide Normally
Mac OS X 11.5.2 (Big Sur), Finale user since 1996

ebiggs1
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:57 am
Finale Version: Finale 27
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by ebiggs1 » Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:53 pm

What he is saying is the way you have it set up, the bass staff is part of the music. So even though there aren't any notes in it, it won't hide.
Finale 27 - Perfect Layout - Note Performer 3 - Windows 10
President, The Shawnee Concert Band, Composer

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5633
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by motet » Sun Sep 12, 2021 3:27 pm

Normally you wouldn't use a grand staff for ossia.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Sun Sep 12, 2021 4:52 pm

Only if it involves the bass.
motet wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 3:27 pm
Normally you wouldn't use a grand staff for ossia.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Sun Sep 12, 2021 4:52 pm

Thanks, that makes sense.
ebiggs1 wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:53 pm
What he is saying is the way you have it set up, the bass staff is part of the music. So even though there aren't any notes in it, it won't hide.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Sun Sep 12, 2021 4:53 pm

musicus wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 4:52 pm
Only if it involves the bass as well.
motet wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 3:27 pm
Normally you wouldn't use a grand staff for ossia.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:53 pm

I thought I got it but I don't. I have a treble and bass, and I wish to hide the bass staff. So
I highlight the bass staff, select "hide normally" and still nothing happens.
Peter Thomsen wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:34 am
The culprit is the Piano staff group.

If you examine the Group Attributes for the Piano staff group, then you will see that the pop up menu
When Hiding Empty Staves
is set to
Only Hide If All Staves Empty

Instead, choose
Hide Normally

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5633
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by motet » Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:58 pm

Did you do what you just quoted, edit the group attributes? Does it say "hide normally" now? If so, did you do the right group?
Attachments
0978.png
0978.png (110.97 KiB) Viewed 967 times

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Mon Sep 13, 2021 12:21 am

See attachment, meas.54.
motet wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:58 pm
Did you do what you just quoted, edit the group attributes? Does it say "hide normally" now? If so, did you do the right group?
Attachments
test2.musx
(98.82 KiB) Downloaded 18 times

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5633
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by motet » Mon Sep 13, 2021 2:40 am

The group setting applies to the entire group. "When hiding empty staves, hide normally." You then need to go hide what you want after you change the setting.
Attachments
0979.png

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Mon Sep 13, 2021 2:49 am

Maybe I'm not getting what is meant by "group." Can you clarify?
motet wrote:
Mon Sep 13, 2021 2:40 am
The group setting applies to the entire group. "When hiding empty staves, hide normally." You then need to go hide what you want after you change the setting.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5633
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: hide empty staves

Post by motet » Mon Sep 13, 2021 3:08 am

You can read all about it in the manual

http://usermanuals.finalemusic.com/Fina ... Groups.htm

but for an ossia staff that will usually be hidden, you probably don't want it in a group.
Last edited by motet on Mon Sep 13, 2021 5:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:50 pm

Thanks for your comment. I followed your link to the manual and found extensive
articles about groups, seemingly very detailed, but could not find anywhere a definition of
the word "group" in the context of Finale. I assume they don't mean Systems or
Staves. The word "group" has many definitions depending on context, and I did
see articles on how to group staves, remove groups, etc. And they do discuss how
to do various tasks. But I still have no idea what is meant by "group" in the context of
Finale. This is frustrating because I would like to follow your suggestion regarding
"ossia" but I don't know how to proceed.
motet wrote:
Mon Sep 13, 2021 3:08 am
You can read all about it in the manual

http://usermanuals.finalemusic.com/Fina ... Groups.htm

but for an ossia staff that will usually be hidden, you probably don't want it in a group.

musicus
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:12 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: hide empty staves

Post by musicus » Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:51 pm

musicus wrote:
Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:50 pm
Thanks for your comment. I am a pianist and composer and have been using Finale
for many years. I followed your link to the manual and found extensive
articles about groups, seemingly very detailed, but could not find anywhere a definition
of the word "group" in the context of Finale. I assume they don't mean Systems or
Staves. The word "group" has many definitions depending on context, and I did
see articles on how to group staves, remove groups, etc. And they do discuss how
to do various tasks. But I still have no idea what is meant by "group" in the context of
Finale. Nor do they provide a visual example of a "group," at least I couldn't find one.
This is frustrating because I would like to follow your suggestion regarding
"ossia" but I don't know how to proceed.
motet wrote:
Mon Sep 13, 2021 3:08 am
You can read all about it in the manual

http://usermanuals.finalemusic.com/Fina ... Groups.htm

but for an ossia staff that will usually be hidden, you probably don't want it in a group.

Post Reply