Tutorials and workflow

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

AnneMillington
Finale Version: 27.3.0
Operating System: Windows

Post by AnneMillington » Tue Oct 19, 2021 12:29 am

I am a musician just now retiring from my day job as a quasi IT person, having specialized for decades in an application every bit as comprehensive, powerful and quirky as Finale. I love that you can do just about anything you need to do with Finale; you just have to figure out how. Then the challenge is to remember how you ever accomplished whatever it was. I have really low-level Finale skills, but want to ramp up a bit and become more fluent.

I have Finale 27 installed on a pretty competent workstation, and have implemented a couple of helper apps (ScanScore and the Perfect Layout plugin). My primary goal is to create publishable scores and parts for string ensembles, utilizing imported XML files and some direct input material.

My questions are two:
1) what are the best tutorials or training documents for learning the current Finale version, and
2) what workflow do you recommend. In other words, do you set your document up in Finale, then run Perfect Layout, then finish up with manual fixes?

I am just curious how others with experience deal with Finale's special nature. I have already learned quite a bit from poking around on this site. Lots of helpful advice!

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by miker » Tue Oct 19, 2021 1:57 am

I would suggest looking over scores that look “right” to you. There really isn’t a right or wrong way.