Space between the bar line and the first note of the bar.

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

TonyEastwood
Finale Version: 27.0.0708
Operating System: Windows

Post by TonyEastwood » Sat Jul 30, 2022 7:56 pm

I'm a lazy composer and use the transposition tool very extensively/experimentally. Finale does a great job of chromatic transposition and often spaces the music a long way from the bar line in order to fit in an assortment of sharps or flats (i.e. for chords).

Unfortunately, If you transpose back to a key that then doesn't require so many accidentals then it often leaves a big gap between the bar line and the first note.

I only know two ways of removing this large gap – one is to use the "measure attributes" and enter a negative value for "extra space at the beginning". Another is to invoke the 'special tools' | 'note position tool'. The first method works for all the parts in the score – the second method allows one to adjust just one part.

However, it surprises me I have to use these quite slow methods. For some reason control-4 and control U formatting does not recover this magic missing space.

Is there some better way to reset the gap between the bar line and the first note at the distance required by the current set of accidentals?
compostions at https://guitarcompositions.wordpress.com/

Bill Stevens
Finale Version: Using 26, testing 27
Operating System: Mac

Post by Bill Stevens » Sat Jul 30, 2022 8:05 pm

If you use the Measure Tool > Measure > Show Measure Spacing Handles does that do what you want?

::: Bill
Version 26.3 / 27.4 / Mac OS 10.15.5 Catalina
Finale user since the beginning of time.

Peter Thomsen
Finale Version: Finale v27.4

Post by Peter Thomsen » Sat Jul 30, 2022 8:47 pm

TonyEastwood wrote:
Sat Jul 30, 2022 7:56 pm