Setting playback tempo?

Discuss playback problems, including VST, Garritan, MIDI, etc.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Post Reply
bj nick
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:10 am
Finale Version: v26, NP3, Garritan
Operating System: Windows

Setting playback tempo?

Post by bj nick » Sat Sep 19, 2020 7:34 pm

I would like to be able to play back a piece or section slower or faster regardless of tempo markings in the score....so even if the piece is set to, say, 120, at times I need to play it back slower to hear something, or whatever. I RTFM, googled it, didn't find the answer. I don't see any such setting in the playback controls....am I missing something?
Finale v. 26, Windows 10, Garritan Instruments for Finale

Re: Setting playback tempo?

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 4293
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by zuill » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:07 pm

I don't believe this is an option in Finale.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5238
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by motet » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:15 pm

I would like that, too, for proof-listening.

oldmkvi
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:13 pm
Finale Version: 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by oldmkvi » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:45 pm

Enter a new Tempo Mark where you want check things out, then delete when done.
2 seconds.

User avatar
motet
Posts: 5238
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by motet » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:51 pm

More than a few seconds, and times hundreds for the sorts of things I do.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 4293
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by zuill » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:59 pm

A more dangerous approach: delete all the tempo expressions with the Clear Selected Items utility, test your tempo, then undo to return them. I suppose a safer approach would be to copy only those with the filter, and then paste them back in.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

oldmkvi
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:13 pm
Finale Version: 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by oldmkvi » Sat Sep 19, 2020 10:28 pm

I see your point, Motet, but as it is , you can't do it.
This way you can.
No problem if you don't want to!

bj nick
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:10 am
Finale Version: v26, NP3, Garritan
Operating System: Windows

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by bj nick » Sat Sep 19, 2020 10:52 pm

motet wrote:
Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:51 pm
More than a few seconds, and times hundreds for the sorts of things I do.
[/qu

EXACTLY. I KNOW I can set up a new tempo, but I would rather not have to do it fifty times.
Finale v. 26, Windows 10, Garritan Instruments for Finale

bj nick
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:10 am
Finale Version: v26, NP3, Garritan
Operating System: Windows

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by bj nick » Sat Sep 19, 2020 10:55 pm

I do appreciate the work-around feedback, since it seems this VERY BASIC function is not available.....grumble....grumble.....piss....moan.....
Finale v. 26, Windows 10, Garritan Instruments for Finale

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1662
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 26.3.1, 25.5, Catal
Operating System: Mac

Re: Setting playback tempo?

Post by michelp » Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:51 pm

Scrubbing playback could also be helpful. Opt+Spacebar (Mac), Ctrl+Spacebar (Windows) and drag the mouse over the music (without clicking).
Also possible for 1 staff. Add Shift to the keyboard shortcut.
Michel
MacOsX 10.14.6, Finale 26.3.1, 25.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

Post Reply