Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between views

Discuss technical issues with keyboards, sound, video cards, etc.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

kglong
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:11 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between views

Post by kglong » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:15 pm

I am running Finale 2014.5 on a MacBook Air.

My Finale will not show changes to staves (whether I am trying to edit them or reposition them) without my switching between page view and scroll view to refresh the page.

Any ideas why this might be happening and how to fix? It only happens occasionally and seems to come on randomly. I have tried restarting everything (computer, the program, etc.) but nothing seems to work.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between views

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
motet
Posts: 3470
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between vi

Post by motet » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:36 pm

What kind of changes?

Is Automatic Update Layout turned on?

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4337
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between vi

Post by miker » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:10 pm

Have you tried to redraw with CMD-D, or update layout with CMD-U?
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

kglong
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:11 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between vi

Post by kglong » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:21 pm

It's when I try to make changes like dragging or re-sizing staves. It also doesn't track other changes, like when I try to insert a dynamic marking.

I am not sure how to check that layout setting.

kglong
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:11 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between vi

Post by kglong » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:24 pm

miker wrote:Have you tried to redraw with CMD-D, or update layout with CMD-U?
Yes, I have tried both of those...to no avail.

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4337
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Changes to staves not showing unless I switch between vi

Post by miker » Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:03 pm

What OS are you running? Also, have you tried deleting the preferences?
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

Post Reply