Trombone one sounds different pitch

Discuss technical issues with keyboards, sound, video cards, etc.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Timothy98
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 12:34 pm
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Mac

Trombone one sounds different pitch

Post by Timothy98 » Sun May 17, 2015 12:44 pm

Hi
I'm writing a piece for orchestra and the playback has worked all fine until now, when the stupid Trombone 1 sounds a fourth lower than all the other instruments.
It starts with C in all instruments. The note in the trombone 1 part is also a C but it sounds like a G! HOW?
I'm getting really frustrated here.
Earlier the trombone 1 sounded like a trumpet but not anymore. Now a stupid fourth lower.

Re: Trombone one sounds different pitch

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4355
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Trombone one sounds different pitch

Post by miker » Sun May 17, 2015 1:18 pm

Welcome to the forum.

The first thing to try is restarting the computer. If that doesn't help, we would need to see the file.

Please post the file, so we can have a look at it. In order to post a file on this forum, it must be compressed (zipped) and the total size must be under 100KB.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

dgatwood
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:30 am
Finale Version: 2012
Operating System: Mac

Re: Trombone one sounds different pitch

Post by dgatwood » Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:56 am

Timothy98 wrote:Hi
I'm writing a piece for orchestra and the playback has worked all fine until now, when the stupid Trombone 1 sounds a fourth lower than all the other instruments.
It starts with C in all instruments. The note in the trombone 1 part is also a C but it sounds like a G! HOW?
I'm getting really frustrated here.
Earlier the trombone 1 sounded like a trumpet but not anymore. Now a stupid fourth lower.
Stuck F rotor? :D

But seriously.... Is it that way from the beginning of the file? Are you sure you didn't set it up that track as a transposing instrument either in the staff settings or using a staff style? Failing that, there could be an errant pitch bend MIDI command in there.

Post Reply