More choice of fretboard voicings in PrintMusic

Post your wishes for future features in Finale here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

paynow

Post by paynow » Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:23 pm

I'm a jazz guitarist but write out piano charts for my more pop oriented tunes. On those tunes I like to put the guitar chord name and fretboard over the melody line.

With Allegro and Finale you can create your own fretboard voicings but cannot with PrintMusic. Some of the voicings they give you, however, make no sense. See the attached picture; that first Ab Major on the 11th fret is not what I would use next to the two chords that follow it; I would use the one down on the 4th fret. That Eb7 is not the voicing I would use in this instance either. The ""m" in "maj" should be capitalized in my opinion as well.

If Finale is not going to let us create our own fretboards in the mid-level software they should at least give us a choice of a couple of voicings.

The ones in Songwriter were actually better and "M" was capitalized too!
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (80.38 KiB) Viewed 9346 times

miker
Finale Version: Finale 27.4
Operating System: Mac

Post by miker » Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:25 pm

Nice wish, but I doubt it's gonna happen. However, I definitely agree about the upper case M in Maj7.
Finale 27 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 13.2.1 Ventura
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

paynow

Post by paynow » Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:30 pm

miker wrote:Nice wish, but I doubt it's gonna happen. However, I definitely agree about the upper case M in Maj7.
Miker,

It seems like a small thing but you're probably right.

A good thing would be to have the fretboard choices all be low on the neck and barre chords where applicable.

I never put fretboards in jazz charts, only in pop charts, so at least about 50% of my tunes will look fine. :P

TWW
Finale Version: 26.1 PC
Operating System: Windows

Post by TWW » Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:13 pm