percussion layers

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

jgh
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 7:23 pm
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Mac

percussion layers

Post by jgh » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:16 pm

Hi everybody, is there a way to copy a layer of percussion into another layer, and then move the second layer to a different line on the staff? For any other instrument I would do Move/Copy Layers --> Copy Layer 1 to Layer 2, and then Show Active Layers Only and use Command 7 to move the new layer a few lines up the staff, but in Orchestral Percussion, Command 6/7 don't seem to move notes up and down lines of the staff. Any solutions to copy a percussion part to another layer but have them on separate lines?

Re: percussion layers

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

jgh
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 7:23 pm
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: percussion layers

Post by jgh » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:26 pm

Alternatively, is there a way to take a part that is notated as a single voice in Orchestral Percussion, and keeping it all in the same layer, create a second voice a fourth or fifth apart?

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: percussion layers

Post by zuill » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:47 pm

Percussion notes don't transpose the same as other instruments. Each individual instrument is assigned a staff position in the Layout. If you want to change that, edit the Layout and make the changes there.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Nick Mazuk
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:29 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: percussion layers

Post by Nick Mazuk » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:20 pm

Hi There,

What you are looking for is actually two different functionalities.

For the percussion notes, as Zuill pointed out, they don't transpose the same way that ordinary notes do and hence 6/7 won't work. Instead, use the Transpose Percussion tool (Utilities > Transpose Percussion).

For the other orchestral instruments where you want everything a fourth or a fifth off, you can use the normal transpose tool (either right-click > Transpose or Utilities > Transpose). Then, select the interval you want as well as "Preserve Original Pitches". This will keep the original positions while adding another note at the specified interval.

Hope this helps,

Nick
Nick

jgh
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 7:23 pm
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: percussion layers

Post by jgh » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:16 pm

Thanks guys, Transpose Percussion worked great.

Post Reply