Chord Spacing

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

aemusic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:05 am
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Mac

Chord Spacing

Post by aemusic » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:15 am

Is there a function for chord spacing (like music spacing) so that bars space out automatically in order to avoid chords clashing (pic attached). Thanks in advance.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 1.05.12 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 1.05.12 AM.png (202.53 KiB) Viewed 906 times
AE MUSIC

Finale 2014
Mac OS X Version 10.9.5

Re: Chord Spacing

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5818
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.1
Operating System: Mac

Re: Chord Spacing

Post by Peter Thomsen » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:28 am

The problem here seems to be the measures with Slash Notation, right?
My guess is that those measures do not contain any entries, right?

To get a better spacing you can add rests in the empty measures.

First, add Half rests, then Apply Music Spacing, and Update Layout.

Where more spacing is needed, change a Half rest to two Quarter rests, then Apply Music Spacing, and Update Layout.

Where more spacing is needed, change a Quarter rest to two Eighth rests, then Apply Music Spacing, and Update Layout.

Where more spacing is needed, change an Eighth rest to two Sixteenth rests, then Apply Music Spacing, and Update Layout.
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), Finale user since 1996

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1545
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Chord Spacing

Post by michelp » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:34 am

You can also try Document Options -> Music Spacing -> Avoid collision and check the box "Chords". But it won't do miracles.
Other suggestions :
• Resize the chords in the measures where there are 4 chords. Utilities -> Change -> Chords -> Scale Chords to : X
But this works with moderate reductions, otherwise the spacing of the elements of the suffix will look bad.
• Use another staff (no line, nothing) and use the resize tool to reduce it. Chords will space correctly. Group the staves.
• To save a little space, use the "subtext" alternate bass in case of a simple inversion (This is quite common practice).

P.S.: in your example, if you reduce the width of the fourth bar (use the Measure tool handles), you could allocate more width to the first three measures.
Last edited by michelp on Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

Nick Mazuk
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:29 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Chord Spacing

Post by Nick Mazuk » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:15 pm

There's also a good tutorial on this on OFNOTE.

http://www.rpmseattle.com/of_note/final ... l-spacing/
Nick

at8ax
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:48 pm
Finale Version: PC 2014.5, 25
Operating System: Windows

Re: Chord Spacing

Post by at8ax » Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:39 pm

Something I've been wondering about: Is there a difference between, say, C7/E and
C7
E
? When I have this situation, I'll do C7_E to create the stacked chord (is that what you meant by "subtext"?), but do some players read that differently? If so, what's the other interpretation?

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2656
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Chord Spacing

Post by zuill » Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:46 pm

That is traditionally used for polychords. So, not C7 with an E bass, but C7 superimposed over an E triad.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1545
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Chord Spacing

Post by michelp » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:08 pm

Like Zuill said.
A chord over a bass NOTE will use "Subtext" as its alternate bass in the chord definition window (see image, where the 3 possibilities are visible).
 
subtext.jpg
subtext.jpg (53.35 KiB) Viewed 794 times
 
In the case of subtext, the line will be oblique. For that reason, the whole chord symbol takes less space on the score. That's also a reason why the "After Root" option, C7/E (on the same baseline) is not used so much.

The option "Under Root" uses the horizontal line for polychords, in other words for 2 superimposed chords. Note that Finale cannot define a bottom suffix, so one has to use a workaround (define 2 chords and place a horizontal line in between them).
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

Post Reply