Fit Measures

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Post Reply
jbearch
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:43 pm
Finale Version: Finale 25
Operating System: Windows

Fit Measures

Post by jbearch » Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:50 pm

I just updated to Finale 2012 (Windows 7). The Fit Measures commands under Utilities won't work. No locking of measures in systems. A real problem when doing a score layout. Does anybody else have this problem?

Re: Fit Measures

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4433
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by miker » Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:07 pm

I haven't noticed it. (The lock icon doesn't show, but you can turn it on in View menu>Show>Page Layout Icons.)

Can you describe what is (or isn't) happening, when you use the Fit Measures command?
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

jbearch
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:43 pm
Finale Version: Finale 25
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fit Measures

Post by jbearch » Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:21 pm

In the past I moved measures within a system to different systems, locking them in the process, thereby getting a layout that I wanted. Sometimes less measures per system, sometimes more, depending on the busyness of the music. It just won't work now in 2012. I do the same process as in 2011 (I tried it several times on a couple of scores in both versions) and nothing happens except an extra page is created with nothing on it. And no music is moved anywhere. No lock symbol is shown either. 2011 still does what it is supposed to do. But in 2012 nothing under the Fit Measures window works. I can't lock systems with 4 or any other number of measures either. I wonder if it is a bug?

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4433
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by miker » Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:09 pm

When that blank extra page is created, CTRL+U should update the layout.

You should contact tech support about the Fit Measures issue: Finale Tech Support  (952) 937-9703
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

jbearch
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:43 pm
Finale Version: Finale 25
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fit Measures

Post by jbearch » Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:21 pm

CTRL-U doesn't do anything. Just erases the empty 4th page. I have already notified support but so far they haven't replied. This is really quite mystifying. I just wonder if anybody else with Finale 2012 have seen something like this. I bought the upgrade online and downloaded it. So no disk. But that can't be the problem, or...?
Thanks for the responses, btw.

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5805
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.1
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by Peter Thomsen » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:58 pm

jbearch wrote:In the past I moved measures within a system to different systems, locking them in the process, thereby getting a layout that I wanted. Sometimes less measures per system, sometimes more, depending on the busyness of the music. It just won't work now in 2012. I do the same process as in 2011 (I tried it several times on a couple of scores in both versions) and nothing happens except an extra page is created with nothing on it. And no music is moved anywhere. No lock symbol is shown either. 2011 still does what it is supposed to do. But in 2012 nothing under the Fit Measures window works. I can't lock systems with 4 or any other number of measures either. I wonder if it is a bug?
I don't recall having seen any other forum posts about this issue, so I suspect that the issue is unique to your system.

You should definitely follow Mike's advice, and open a support case with MakeMusic's Tech Support.
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), Finale user since 1996

jbearch
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:43 pm
Finale Version: Finale 25
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fit Measures

Post by jbearch » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:15 am

Eureka! I found the source of the problem. In Program Options/Edit/Automatic Settings/ you have to make sure you set

Reflow measures across systems (maintain system locks). So it was my mistake.

I am not sure why I never had the problem in Finale 2011 because I never had to reset that value. At least I don't think I did. It must have been the default but not in Finale 2012. Insteresting difference. But I could be wrong.

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4433
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by miker » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:16 pm

Glad you found it.
Sometimes MM changes the default setting from year to year.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

keithbraithwaite
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:01 am
Finale Version: 2012
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fit Measures

Post by keithbraithwaite » Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:56 am

Had the same problem with F2012.
Many thanks for the solution!
Old but not past it...

Raybird
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:43 am
Finale Version: 25.4.1.164
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by Raybird » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:28 am

Finale 25.5.0.259 OSX 10.14.5

Hi... I am using a fairly new template and fit measures is behaving strangely. I am trying to fit 3 measures for one particular staff which is fine, except many other measures are being moved simultaneously and annoyingly.

Under the automatic settings I have : Across systems maintain system locks, and all the automatic settings are unchecked.

Any suggestions very gratefully received.

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5805
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.1
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by Peter Thomsen » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:34 am

Raybird wrote:… Under the automatic settings I have : Across systems maintain system locks, and all the automatic settings are unchecked …
I suppose that you - by your words “automatic settings” - mean settings in the program’s Preferences, right? (= the program specific settings)

What about the automatic settings in the Document Options? (= the document specific settings)

Such as the Multimeasure Rests setting “Update Automatically” - which is known to cause trouble, if it is still on after you have finished entering the music, and have begun working on the layout.
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), Finale user since 1996

Raybird
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:43 am
Finale Version: 25.4.1.164
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by Raybird » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:43 pm

Many thanks, Peter... that has solved this issue.

However, (Perhaps I should post this elsewhere) I am now have problems with the update layout which is behaving curiously.

Ray

Raybird
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:43 am
Finale Version: 25.4.1.164
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by Raybird » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:45 pm

Problem solved with the editing prefs... maintaining system locks.

ebiggs1
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:57 am
Finale Version: Finale 2014.5 - 26.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: Fit Measures

Post by ebiggs1 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:55 pm

You should contact tech support about the Fit Measures issue:
Just curious, is 2012 still covered for tech help and support?
Finale 2014.5 - Finale 26
Window 10

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4433
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Fit Measures

Post by miker » Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:37 pm

No, it isn't. Right now, only 25 and 26 are supported.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

Post Reply